Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-03-2014, 11:07 AM   #31
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
FishyBusiness40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 50
I get what your saying totally.. Its alot that can go wrong, but again with the way my stand is i couldnt get just 1 tank in to use as a sump so id have to atleast have a sump split in 2, i was thinking maybe have the refugium and return pump in the same tank and have overflow in a first tank?! Theres still months before this is all going to begin, but i want a solid plan before i do anything so again, all advice is welcomed! Thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
FishyBusiness40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 12:33 PM   #32
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,569
You could take those shelves out and make 2 tall tanks to fit in there. Just do 2 separate overflows and treat them as separate sumps entirely.
__________________

__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 01:18 PM   #33
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
FishyBusiness40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 50
What do i need?

As in run two completely seperate sumps? So an overflow and a return pump in each as well as some rock or algae in each?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
FishyBusiness40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 01:50 PM   #34
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,569
Quote:
Originally Posted by FishyBusiness40 View Post
As in run two completely seperate sumps? So an overflow and a return pump in each as well as some rock or algae in each?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
I don't see why not. It would cut down on the complexity a bit. In one you could put a skinner and the heater while in the other you could put macro algae. You might run into micro bubbles doing it that way though.
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 02:23 PM   #35
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
FishyBusiness40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 50
Yeah definately. Only thing is the size of both cupbords in 9" x 9" (width and depth) so not a whole lot of room to work with. I may get a new cabinet yet, one that can house a bigger one!


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
FishyBusiness40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 02:26 PM   #36
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,569
Quote:
Originally Posted by FishyBusiness40 View Post
Yeah definately. Only thing is the size of both cupbords in 9" x 9" (width and depth) so not a whole lot of room to work with. I may get a new cabinet yet, one that can house a bigger one!


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
Are the center pieces weight bearing? If not you could just remove them
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 02:37 PM   #37
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Southern Cali
Posts: 1,734
from looking at his pics, I'm pretty sure if he removes the center upright supports that the stand would be very unstable and could easily fold laterally if bumped hard or something. It looks like if he removed the center supports, then he would also be removing the back panels as well and I fear it would crumble like a house of cards.
__________________
PB_Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 03:02 PM   #38
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,569
Quote:
Originally Posted by PB_Smith View Post
from looking at his pics, I'm pretty sure if he removes the center upright supports that the stand would be very unstable and could easily fold laterally if bumped hard or something. It looks like if he removed the center supports, then he would also be removing the back panels as well and I fear it would crumble like a house of cards.
Possibly, heck, even probably but it's hard to tell without being able to touch it.
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 03:06 PM   #39
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ingy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Comox, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,837
I would consider loosing the stand it comes with and get a new one with an open center space.
Or build one if your handy.
__________________
Ingy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 03:47 PM   #40
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
FishyBusiness40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 50
It would fold probably if i removed the centre pieces. Ive already thought of all of this, ive listed my tank for swaps to a bigger one with more storage. It would be so complicated trying to work with such little space i have already! But ive decided and so far this is what im going to go with:

200ltr+ tank
30ltr+ sump with protien skimmer, rocks and algae in refugium and a pump back to tank.

2 powerheads 20x

Live rocks and sand.

Still looking at lights.

Thoughts?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
FishyBusiness40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
need help ASAP PLZ!!! Need to know if i need water change Jonathan G. Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 02-28-2005 10:10 PM
totally new from saltwater, need to know what i need lp26kwan Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 09-04-2004 02:27 AM
need reef light for my 55g need 4x65 power compack sandblas Archive 21 06-21-2004 01:11 AM
I need new filtration system, what do I need? Fuge maybe? XXFirefighter Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 06-02-2004 10:51 PM
How much Filtration Do I need???? Need Advice! emac Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 04-16-2004 04:34 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.