Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 08-30-2011, 02:27 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
Cool What do I need for this new tank?

I'm not a total newbie... I have had a 50 gallon tub, fish only tank for 10 years in my classroom. I have retired and brought it home with me to really baby my old fish, a few additions & some new corals. I also decided to set up my old freshwater tank (which was stored in my attic) with saltwater. I decided to do this after my mom's Mother's Day gift, a tiny little Oscellaris Clownfish, outgrew his Fluval 2 gallon tank! She had gotten so attached to him (as did I) that I set up the tank and bought him a tank mate where he is happily swimming all over the 33 gallon flatback hex. Now, that he's out of his tiny corner in that 2 gallon tank, I'm starting to wonder about this set up. I never worried about the 50 gallon with it's bioballs (now disposed of) and it's protein skimmer. The 33 gallon is set up with only a whisper filter 3 (which, I was told, was plenty of filtration for the tank size 7-8 years ago). I honestly only have the 2 tiny clownfish, 1 watchman goby, a pistil shrimp, a fire cleaner shrimp, 8-`10 tiny hermit crabs, & 2 turbo snails. The several pieces of live rock have a few tiny feather dusters and 3 nice round sponges. Do you think I'm ok as is for a while? I'm wondering if I need a protein skimmer. I had a 20 gallon marine -fish only- tank at school with no protein skimmer- it did have power heads though-, and it was ok for the years that I had it...before I upgraded to the 50 gal. I only got a protein skimmer with the 50 gal setup 10 years ago. I was hoping with this few fish I'd be alright without one. l'd like my next addition to be a sea anemone for the clown fish- which I know will need a good light. I'm thinking a Marineland LE