What I need for my ideal reef

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

CTBowes6

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello.

After years of following the hobby but never owning my own tank, I'm finally in a position to take the plunge.

Let me give you a breakdown of my situation. I'm a college student working close to full time at a reputable LFS in Central Florida. I love the hobby and have learned alot while working at my store. My co workers have given me alot of advice, but I'd like to hear what everyone has to say. I'm looking to start a 20-30 gallon reef with a few fish and a host of interesting inverts. My main questions entail equipment and I am looking to form a checklist for what to buy. Due to an upcoming move, I will not be starting the tank for about a month or two, but I feel it's never to early to start planning.

I'd like to be able to handle all soft corals and LPS's comfortably as well as some of your more basic SPS. While I'm not severely limited by budget, I'd love to cut costs where possible.

I look forward to learning what everyone recommends.

Well to start your going to need to decide a few things.

1) led or metal halide? I consider T5 the more expensive route considering intial cost and replacement of bulbs for a 4-6bulb fixture that you would need for a mixed tank in my experienced opinion

2) sump or no sump? Personally i recommend sump since a) it adds water volume b) it hides some equipment and c) allows you to be more flexible.

From there more suggestions can be given.

Also what about a stock list? Very important to decide what you want or can have first. Options are limited in smaller tanks.