What is a "reef ready" tank?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Abemas

Aquarium Advice Regular
What makes a "reef ready" tank different than a standard tank?

Im not a saltwater expert, but Id have to say plumbing. I think reef ready tanks are either drilled for, or include plumbing to add a sump, or they have an integral overflow built in to either one side or the corner of the tank.

There are already 2 holed drilled in the corner or middle back of the tank glass for a return and drain plumbing. Most "reef ready" termed tanks come with plumbing too... if not, you have to factor purchasing the plastic/plumbing into your tank costs. For instance, the oceanic "reef ready" tanks just come with two holes... but you can get their "reef ready" plumbing kits that include
1 The big black plastic overflow portion that sections off your tank water from your overflow.
2 The return pipe that is shaped like an upside down hook... this basically lets the water in the overflow chamber go down into your sump/fuge/filtration system below
3 All bulkheads that cover your pipes/tubing from the edges of the glass and make a tight seal at the holes
4 The return pipe with the bendable nozzle to shoot back into the tank.

If you dont wish or cant drill a tank, you will have to use the hang on back filters/overflow that basically sucks the stuff via cyphon up over the lip of the tank and it can cause spills while away if you lose cyphon and/or power. That's why people recommend getting it reef ready or having it drilled if it isn't and purchase the plumbing kits and make it like it came reef ready :) I will attach a few little pics that may explain all of this. Hope this helps!

Attachments

• megaflow_942.jpg
    megaflow_942.jpg
    6 KB · Views: 3,002
  • megaflow_pic_619.jpg
    megaflow_pic_619.jpg
    9.6 KB · Views: 5,473