Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 07-30-2009, 09:29 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict

What is the best way to add dry Rock?

I want to add 50 lbs of key largo rock to my 120 which will make the total amount of rock in the tank 150lbs. The question I have is what is the best way to add the rock with livestock in the tank?

Old 07-30-2009, 09:33 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

i'm thinking you should cycle it first but that's just a guess since i'm totally new to sw.

Old 07-30-2009, 10:01 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by FishEggs View Post
i'm thinking you should cycle it first but that's just a guess since i'm totally new to sw.
Thanks FE, I think you meant cure, your right i should of put that in the post as well (CRS again). According to Marco Rock it is already cured but i planned on running it through the process anyway, It's not LR its dry rock and am not sure myself if there is any die off on it. it's my stupidity for not getting all of the rock at once but at the time I had that dreaded italian disease FUNZALO. I'm concerned about the livestock, and what to do with them when it's time to put the rock in.
Old 07-30-2009, 11:27 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus

Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
If you cure the rock you will be fine. Marcorock tends to have lots of dead stuff on it, I see a lot of brittles in mine.

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 05:50 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by roka64 View Post