Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-20-2006, 09:05 AM   #51
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Sponge filters are mostly used to capture large particles in SW aquariums. Usually you will see them on ph to keep fish/inverts from getting sucked up in them. You also find them in HOB and canister filters mostly to capture larger particles before it goes onto the next media.

Sponge filters do house bacteria that converts the nh3 to no3 but if not rinsed frequently (weekly) then the waste that builds up on them which increases your no3. You want to rinse them in SW not fresh/tap or else you could kill off the bacteria. Easiest way is to rinse them out when doing your weekly pwc in the old water.

If you can avoid using sponges I would since they can be a pain to keep clean and will elevate your no3 levels. A skimmer works much better in removing DOC and since it traps the waste outside of the water (in the collection cup) it will not increase your no3.
__________________

__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2006, 09:21 PM   #52
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
would a sponge filter work in a quarentine tank? or would you recommend to set it up a different way?

thanks
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2006, 09:42 PM   #53
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
It could work in a QT, make sure you take it out before adding any medications.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2006, 10:27 PM   #54
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
what would be the ideal QT tank in your view?
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2006, 11:15 PM   #55
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,462
Quote:
Originally Posted by marty_wolff
what would be the ideal QT tank in your view?
a simple 10g-40g (depending on how many and/or how large of fish you have), a heater, and a sponge filter work just fine for most situations. You can dose many types of meds. with a sponge filter present and once treatment is over you can empty tank, soak sponge in separate fw container, bleach qt tank, and dechlor. (sts) for next time.
__________________
Innovator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2006, 11:22 PM   #56
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
how do you get the exchange of oxygen and carbon dioxide without an air stone??
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2006, 12:04 AM   #57
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,462
sponge filters usually have a male adapter where the airline connects, thus pushing air down into a chamber, which draws water into the sponge, and releases air back out the top. Not sure if that's what you were asking...:s
Innovator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2006, 09:01 AM   #58
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
You can also use a power head to ripple the surface for oxygen exchange.
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2006, 12:21 AM   #59
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
should i leave the qt tank open topped or covered with egg crate(where can i get this)

do qt tanks need a light?
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2006, 11:01 AM   #60
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: East Windsor, NJ
Posts: 254
No need for lights on qt, just room light. You want the fish to de-stress. I keep mine open but have not had any that are known to jump, probably should have some kind of cover. You can get egg crate at Home depot or lowes Its actual lighting grid for suspended ceiling. In homedepot its usually kept where they have the fluorescent lights on display.
__________________

__________________
EJS4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.