Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-20-2004, 10:01 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: anaheim, ca
Posts: 12
What protein skimmer to use?

OK. So I decided to ditch the built in wet/dry system in my tank and go with LR and LS for filtration. However, I do not know what kind of protein skimmer to go with. If it helps, here are some pics of the tank I want to start up. Hang on? In sump? Any advice would be appreciated.

There is a hole on this side of the tank, which I think would be a slot for the protein skimmer. The vertical slot is sealed up with acrylic so there isnt really a space there. The black dotted compartment is where the bio balls are.
http://home.comcast.net/~juicy/fish003.jpg

This is the the other end of the tank. It has two empty compartments and where the overflow slots are.
http://home.comcast.net/~juicy/fish004.jpg
Front view of tank. 40 gallons. 36"x15"x16"
http://home.comcast.net/~juicy/fish005.jpg
__________________

__________________
poriceboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2004, 01:03 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,216
go with the best ya can afford ! and a sump model would be best !!
__________________

__________________
good luck keith
scuba_steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2004, 04:20 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: anaheim, ca
Posts: 12
What does everyone think about the Seaclone 100?
__________________
poriceboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2004, 10:20 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,216
not a good choice ! go with at the very least one of these

http://www.captivereefs.com/captivereefs/index.asp#

the aqua-c remora
__________________
good luck keith
scuba_steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2004, 06:56 PM   #5
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: WI
Posts: 1,783
Took the words right out of my mouth!!!
__________________
captivereefs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2004, 07:19 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
I would also suggest an Aqua C Remora.
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2004, 08:39 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 33
i have a cpr dual back pak on my tank and it hasn't done me wrong. running for 1 1/2 year just general cleaning no problems. just throwing that out there, many don't agree.
__________________
wishing great tanks for all, chris

72 gal bow front. cpr dual bak pak skimmer, 20 gal sump, approx 85lbs LR, 260watt power compact, two moonlight leds, (2)65w actinic, (2)65w 10k, 2 fire shrimp, 47 hermit crabs, 80 snails, peppermint shrimp, yellow tang, flame angel, 2 Oce clownfish, lawnmower blenny, coral beauty angel, lyretail anthias, 3 feather dusters, magnificent anemone, candy coral, yellow cucumber, 2 pulsing xenia, torch coral, mushrooms, condy anemone
SALTY72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2004, 10:51 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: anaheim, ca
Posts: 12
If I don't put in 1.5 lbs. of LR per gallon in my tank and dont use a filter, would a protein skimmer handle the filtration? At first I was planning on having about 20lbs. LR, LS, tetratec 300pf with heater, and a protein skimmer, but appears the tetratec wont fit in the area i wanted it to in my tank. So I'm wondering if the protein skimmer can handle the filtration without the tetratec?
__________________
poriceboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2004, 11:16 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 105
Send a message via AIM to mr_tee0419
The protein skimmer will pick up pieces of protein and other wastes in your water that you couldn't scoop out with a net. However, it will not pick up large pieces of waste material. Both forms of filtration are pretty much neccessary. I suggest a canister filter. The cascade series is pretty inexpensive and have been reliable for me. Here is a link to the cheapest place I could find them http://www.animalworldnetwork.com/peplcafi.html .
__________________
mr_tee0419 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2004, 03:05 AM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_tee0419
However, it will not pick up large pieces of waste material. Both forms of filtration are pretty much neccessary. I suggest a canister filter.
I disagree with the above statement. IMO, both forms of filtration are not necessary. This is not to say that you can't run a canister or HOB filter and still have a successful tank...many folks do. Once the filter becomes bioactive though, it will start churning out nitrates which will fuel unwanted algae growth. In a reef tank, the larger pieces of waste are taken care of by your clean up crew...a collection of detrivores ranging from tiny pods to snails and conches. Even if you don't have a DSB, you will still get some nitrate control in the inner areas of the LR. The power filter is highly aerated and the bacteria that converts nitrates cannot live in there. If you do run a power filter of any kind on this tank, I would suggest using it for circulation only and not running any media in it. You can use it occasionally for activated carbon if you see the need, but remove it before it has time to develop an active bacterial colony. If it were my tank, I would stick with plenty of LR and a high quality skimmer. I believe you mentioned that your tank had a built in wet/dry? You can continue to run this with no media for extra circulation if you want. You could even use a sponge in it as a prefilter as long as you rinse it regularly in tap water. This will keep bacterial activity in the sponge to a minimum. JMHO.
__________________

__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
protein, protein skimmer, skimmer

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
***FOR SALE*** RedSea Prizm Skimmer PROTEIN SKIMMER mike3epanda Archive 0 09-08-2007 09:47 PM
RedSea Prizm Skimmer PROTEIN SKIMMER *TRADE* mike3epanda Archive 0 09-08-2007 09:44 PM
FS: AquaC Remora Protein Skimmer w/ Skimmer Box (USED) jmh2536 Archive 1 07-26-2006 02:45 PM
Coralife Super Skimmer Needle Wheel Protein Skimmer roka64 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 06-20-2006 07:27 PM
Protein Skimmer SerLunchbox Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 02-03-2005 02:51 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.