Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-03-2011, 12:23 AM   #21
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
superdave07's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Rialto, CA
Posts: 394
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X
they work the same way as a fixture, except they don't have the pretty plastic around the guts. you have an in-wall setup anyway, so you aren't going to see the unit from the viewing side.
How about 3 x 54 watts 6500k and moonlight LEDs strip
__________________

__________________
superdave07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 09:29 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
how are you going to pull that off? it's going to be way too wide, isn't it? plus, it will only be 48" long, unless it's a retro and you stagger the lamps. what do you have against the dual 80 watt retros?
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 10:47 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
superdave07's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Rialto, CA
Posts: 394
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X
how are you going to pull that off? it's going to be way too wide, isn't it? plus, it will only be 48" long, unless it's a retro and you stagger the lamps. what do you have against the dual 80 watt retros?
The dual can't be more then 3 1/2" wide
__________________
superdave07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 11:51 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
superdave07's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Rialto, CA
Posts: 394
Will this work with what bulbs http://premiumaquatics.com/aquatic-s...SL-250520.html
__________________
superdave07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 12:49 AM   #25
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
superdave07's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Rialto, CA
Posts: 394
This is my test results 3 days after putting a shrimp in what dose this mean and what should I be doing?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1676055001.jpg
Views:	102
Size:	56.6 KB
ID:	39113  
__________________
superdave07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 01:00 AM   #26
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hackteck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,628
Send a message via AIM to hackteck
things are progressing nicely it looks like
__________________
hackteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 01:05 AM   #27
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
superdave07's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Rialto, CA
Posts: 394
Quote:
Originally Posted by hackteck
things are progressing nicely it looks like
How long dose the cycle last?
__________________
superdave07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 01:19 AM   #28
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
ColBen112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North dakota
Posts: 128
The cycle can last anywhere between a week to a month or more. You put in your ammonia source and test your water until the ammonia goes to 0, then watch your nitrite raise and return to 0, when these 2 are at 0 you should start to see your nitrates rise. Then do a 30% water change and add fish slowly. No more then one a week. I know it's easier said then done and most of us make the mistake of adding to many fish at once.
__________________
ColBen112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 01:32 AM   #29
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
superdave07's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Rialto, CA
Posts: 394
Quote:
Originally Posted by ColBen112
The cycle can last anywhere between a week to a month or more. You put in your ammonia source and test your water until the ammonia goes to 0, then watch your nitrite raise and return to 0, when these 2 are at 0 you should start to see your nitrates rise. Then do a 30% water change and add fish slowly. No more then one a week. I know it's easier said then done and most of us make the mistake of adding to many fish at once.
Where should the nitrates be at?
__________________
superdave07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 06:49 PM   #30
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Quote:
Originally Posted by superdave07 View Post
yes, it would appear so. i would use one ATI blue plus and one ATI aquablue special as the 2 lamps.
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I add anything to my tank?? barterking85 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 43 04-22-2011 06:10 PM
newbie to saltwater tank should i add the water to my tank first or livesand Birdow Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 5 04-20-2011 11:20 PM
Could i add to my tank Jeff likes fish Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 03-18-2011 06:56 PM
What can I add to my tank cooltop Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 08-12-2009 02:16 PM
What else should I add to my tank? zacdl Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 05-18-2005 03:53 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.