Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-09-2009, 05:00 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
kdogg85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 506
what size skimmer

time to order a skimmer. have a 75g tank and was wondering do i get one sized to my tank or get one bigger than required. Also i seen some on ebay that were 30-50 bucks, are they okay or should i get a name brand
__________________

__________________
kdogg85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009, 06:52 PM   #2
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
I would suggest an Octo skimmer. They are probably the best bang for your $. Don't waste your $ on a $30-$50 skimmer on Ebay.

If you have a sump, the Octo NWB150 would be great on your tank and costs less than $200.
Reef Octopus NWB 150 Needle Wheel Protein Skimmer* - AquaCave

If you need a hang on back skimmer, look into the Octo BH2000.
Reef Octopus BH 2000 Hang on Back Protein Skimmer by CoralVue - AquaCave
__________________

__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009, 06:55 PM   #3
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
IMO skimmers are not what you want to skimp on. You get what you pay for with skimmers.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009, 07:12 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
kdogg85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 506
I was curoius as to the get what you pay for concerning skimmers. To me they looked like a simple water and air mixer and nothing more. I've never had one so i couldn't tell a ferrari from a yugo when comes to them so thank you all for the advice. I don't have a sump, but is a sump no more than an extra tank with a water inlet and outlet and what are the benefits to having one besides increased water volume. I only ask because i say i'll only have a few things(fish, corals, etc.) but will wind up with a long list of life to look after. So if a sump is beneficial, i'd sure like to know why
__________________
kdogg85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009, 11:33 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 637
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdogg85 View Post
I was curoius as to the get what you pay for concerning skimmers. To me they looked like a simple water and air mixer and nothing more. I've never had one so i couldn't tell a ferrari from a yugo when comes to them so thank you all for the advice. I don't have a sump, but is a sump no more than an extra tank with a water inlet and outlet and what are the benefits to having one besides increased water volume. I only ask because i say i'll only have a few things(fish, corals, etc.) but will wind up with a long list of life to look after. So if a sump is beneficial, i'd sure like to know why
Don't know about the difference in skimmers because I don't run one. I just do very frequent water changes. The sump does a couple of things. Increased water volume like you mentioned, gets heaters and equipment out of the main display and gives you more options as far as phosphate reactors, calicum reactors, protein skimmers etc. you have more options such as ATO with a sump as well.
__________________
mdaniel2882 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2009, 06:43 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
kdogg85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 506
well i've done a bunch of reading on making one yourself. Can you just stick a tube with valve to adjust flow over the top and down to the bottom of the display tank to get water to feed into the sump. I read an article on overflow boxes and it made sese(why filter only the top few inches of water) plus i want to turn the entire tank over(water flowing everywhere in the system. Should the pump be sized to outrun the siphon tube and just put a valve to regulate flow on the pump
__________________
kdogg85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2009, 09:17 AM   #7
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
Don't even attempt to "just stick a tube with valve to adjust flow over the top and down to the bottom of the display tank to get water to feed into the sump". That is a disaster waiting to happen. You will never be able to match the siphon rate with the pump rate, plus what would stop the siphon if the power went out and the pump stopped? You have the potential of draining too much water out of the tank and overflowing the sump.

If you want to setup a sump, buy an overflow box. They aren't that expensive and when properly setup, are pretty much failsafe.
Overflow Boxes | Wet/Dry Aquarium Filters | Filters | Aquarium - ThatPetPlace.com
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2009, 12:37 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
kdogg85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 506
ok, wouldn't an overflow box just draw water from the top few inches of the tank, that seems the way it works to me. I'm assuming I'm wrong but don't know why
__________________
kdogg85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2009, 04:46 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 637
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdogg85 View Post
ok, wouldn't an overflow box just draw water from the top few inches of the tank, that seems the way it works to me. I'm assuming I'm wrong but don't know why
It is called surface skimming and it is the desired method. the powerheads in your tank should ripple the surface and keep everthing uniform from top
to bottom in the tank
__________________
mdaniel2882 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2009, 05:07 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
kdogg85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 506
That sounds logical, the powerheads i have have hookups on the bottom to connect hoses to so it will draw tankwater to the top from the bottom, duh. didn't even think about that. I got a 40 gallon long tank to use for a sump and can i put my emperor 400 in it to filter the water or would that be best in the tank. the skimmer and heater will be in there also
__________________

__________________
kdogg85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
skimmer

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I want to know everyones tank size & protein skimmer cho fijiwigi Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 23 11-28-2007 04:11 PM
Size of PVC piping in relation to size of pump connections chase33 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 02-19-2007 05:17 AM
hob skimmer and tank frame size? phish7740 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 06-23-2006 03:54 PM
Pump size, Protien skimmer, Setup questions Jeraljay Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 12-24-2005 09:26 PM
What size refugium per size tank? doughboydj Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 06-15-2004 10:15 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.