Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-19-2010, 06:27 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ilostnemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Under ziggys bed..
Posts: 1,365
What to put in compartments of a sump

i know how sumps are divided but what do you put into each compartment or stage? Im thinking on building one for my 30 gallon
__________________

__________________
ilostnemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 07:30 PM   #2
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
Here's my sump. I only have 1 set of baffles seperating the 1st section. The rest is divided with egg crate.
From right to left....
Skimmer, GFO reactor, tank drain line in 1st section
Macro algae (chaeto) and live rock rubble in 2nd section
Frags in 3rd section
Return pump in 4th
__________________

__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 12:08 AM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
Larry's sump is a little larger than what you need. Generally the skimmer goes into the drain area, then the bafles, the the return section. If possible you can put the heater(s) in the return section or drain section to hide them.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 09:50 AM   #4
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,242
I have a 40 gallon long and have three sections. The first is the refugium. The second is bioballs soon to be LR and the third is my equipment/return section.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 07:39 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ilostnemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Under ziggys bed..
Posts: 1,365
well i dont want bioballs i have heard they are nitrite factorys. would it be ok to have it the drain line run through filterfloss, then the second section would be sand with eggcrate and LR on top then go through the three close panes that are close then go to the heater and return pump? also do all the panes need to be the same height?
__________________
ilostnemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 07:40 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ilostnemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Under ziggys bed..
Posts: 1,365
oh also would it be ok to have two return pumps? and does my return pump need to be 10x gph?
__________________
ilostnemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 08:00 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ilostnemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Under ziggys bed..
Posts: 1,365
and do i need the algae type substrate? or not i need a list lol
__________________
ilostnemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 08:53 PM   #8
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,242
I have two overflows and I have two return pumps. A mag 9.5 and a mag 12.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 08:55 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ilostnemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Under ziggys bed..
Posts: 1,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by melosu58 View Post
I have two overflows and I have two return pumps. A mag 9.5 and a mag 12.
alright thanks for that. cause im having no luck with any info online they all say different stuff
__________________

__________________
ilostnemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Clear Sump - How to put heater in sump & Questions.. TheChad Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 04-14-2006 07:39 PM
what "compartments" (and order) go into a sump? gsxrguru2 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 09-07-2005 07:38 PM
Can I put an EV240 outside of and a few inches below my sump gsxrguru2 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 06-25-2005 11:41 AM
Can i put my sump through a wall, in the garage? bawla47 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 06-06-2005 01:58 PM
Whats would i need to put together a sump? eddiedellz Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 01-06-2005 11:28 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.