what to put in my new 20 gallon tank???

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nzpv03

Aquarium Advice Regular
hello everyone...i just set up my first aquarium ever; I am very new at this whole thing (and even more excited!), but i have been reading through a LOT of literature and through many posts on these forums; first off, I can NOT have fish that will require me to get a new tank so pleaseee advise accordingly :lol: thanks! well I'll start my cycle with two zebra danios, but I am not sure whether I want an aggressive tank or a community tank...and i do want a decent amount of fish (atleast like...8 or more ) i ask all of you experienced aquarists to please give me suggestions for an aggressive set up as well as a nice community set up...i would like to have a mix of big and small! keep in mind...20 gallons! so space is limited!! thanks alot in advance :p

Well, i would go for a community tank, you can fit more in, for example you could have, 10 tetra's as schooling fish, or some fancy guppies, or some glass fish, or some red eyes, or some rummy noses, or a mix, eg tetra's and fancy guppies that what i have in my 30gal, they are small, stay small and are very colorful, just a recommendation HTH :) have fun choosing!!!

Welcome !!!! I can feel your excitement :) Kudos to you for doing your research first.

Before you start adding fish to the tank you might want to consider a fishless cycle. Have you read any of the articles on that ? When you cycle with fish you need to do alot of water changes to keep the ammonia and nitrites below leatle levels; plus if you don't want to keep zebra danios in the tank long term you're going to be using space for them that you would normally have the fish you really want to use.