Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-18-2005, 09:47 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Winnipeg,Manitoba,CANADA
Posts: 398
Send a message via MSN to arminkropp
Whats the best way to raise pH?

The pH in my tank is always at about 7.5 in the morning and 8.0 at night. What the best way to raise it? I have a hood that covers the top right noe but I'll ditch it when I get my PC in a couple weeks.
Ant other suggestion?
I heard baking soda. is that right?
thanx
__________________

__________________
arminkropp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2005, 09:54 PM   #2
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Adding chemicals isn't the answer to your problem, removing the lid and increasing surface water flow is. The problem is the trapped CO2 caused from the lid. The added aeration from removing the lid will allow the waters gas exchange to flow easier blowing off the CO2 and allowing the pH to rise naturally.

Cheers
Stve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2005, 10:02 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Winnipeg,Manitoba,CANADA
Posts: 398
Send a message via MSN to arminkropp
I kinda knew I was gonna get that answer. I'll have to leave the hood on for now. I'll see what I can do about surface gas exchange.......
__________________
arminkropp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2005, 10:10 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,832
Send a message via Yahoo to quarryshark
Can you replace a few sections with eggcrate for the time being? That would help a lot.
__________________
quarryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2005, 10:57 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Winnipeg,Manitoba,CANADA
Posts: 398
Send a message via MSN to arminkropp
Well I got a solution for now. Used 2 Cooling fans from my last computer I built and hooked them up to a 9V power adapter and taped the fans to an opening I have on the back of my hood and viola!!
We'll see if it works to bring up my pH!
__________________
arminkropp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2005, 11:42 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wichita Falls, TX
Posts: 47
Here is an old school idea from the heratic: You could run an airstone or two The rational is that the airpump would provide a source of fresh air under the hood, the air-water exchange area would be increased by the surface area of all the bubbles, and the surface of the tank water would be agitated by the bubbles popping.

What is your alkalinity or carbonate hardness? My tank NEVER goes below a pH of 8.0.
__________________
DaveBeaty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005, 12:26 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Winnipeg,Manitoba,CANADA
Posts: 398
Send a message via MSN to arminkropp
I was told by a couple people in here that running a skimmer is basically the same thing.
I dont know how much I want air bubbles in my actual tank anyway. I dont have a sump or anything like that
__________________
arminkropp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005, 01:26 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Long beach
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to xahx
Get a Hang on BAck Skimmer, not too costly either, check it out at www.marinedepot.com
__________________
xahx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005, 11:18 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Winnipeg,Manitoba,CANADA
Posts: 398
Send a message via MSN to arminkropp
Quote:
Originally Posted by xahx
Get a Hang on BAck Skimmer, not too costly either, check it out at www.marinedepot.com
The AquaC Remora I have is a HOB skimmer
__________________
arminkropp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005, 12:18 PM   #10
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Bubblers of anykind aren't going to help much. With the type of lid you have now, is it the ¬Ĺ fold kind where the front part lifts up for feeding?

If so, why not just prop that up so it remains open and allows for some additional flow?

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raise KH? kaaikop Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 02-15-2007 04:03 PM
Best Way To Raise Ph FishFingers Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 01-18-2007 11:56 PM
how do I raise ph? courtneyclv Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 6 08-30-2006 10:47 PM
whats in your salt mix and whats not? lziarek Saltwater Reef Aquaria 12 07-09-2004 02:25 AM
what to use to raise Ph muzanji Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 08-27-2003 01:26 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.