What's Your water change procedure?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jw

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm new to this and am curious about how everyone does water changes as this seemt to be the most time consuming part of owning a tank. Do most people use buckets? This may be stupid but how do you get the water from the bucket to the tank. Do you need a separate power head? It sounds like everyone recommends RO/DI water. Do LFS's actually sell this water? I've read about people purchasing their own units. How do these work? Is it just a filter that attached to the faucet or is more complicated? Also, how messy is the water change? Does water get spilled? I don't want to ruin my carpet.

Here's my whole routine...

I normally have 10+ gallons of saltwater made up ahead of time, stored in a big rubbermaid tub in my garage. When the tub "inventory" drops below 10 gallons, I put more in. I mix the saltwater up in 3.5 gallons batches in a 5 gallon bucket. 3.5 gallons of DI water go in the bucket and 2 cups of Reef Crystals. Stir vigorously for about 15 seconds and dump it in the rubbermaid tub. In that tub (22g tub) is a 100W heater, and a Maxijet 900 powerhead. I keep the water at my tank temp (78 deg) and the powerhead keeps things moving and provides a nice surface ripple for oxygenation. That all runs 24/7.

My tank (46g) is in the corner of my living room, with laminate underneath it. Quick sidetrack here...