Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-03-2005, 05:28 PM   #11
zacdl
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
This Red Sea came with a "sample" of iodine. Looks the same size as the rest of their stuff to me.

Anyway where SHOULD the Iodine be at so I can test and see if it is too low?
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2005, 05:43 PM   #12
zacdl
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
OK I just tested my Alk (With the Seachem) and CA (With the red sea)

Alk is 6 and CA is 500.

Isnt this a bit high?
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2005, 06:56 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
Quote:
Alk is 6 and CA is 500
It is a bit on the high range. As Steve mentioned, keeping them balanced is the key. I try to keep my ALK at 3.6-4 and CA at 420-450.
__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2005, 10:56 AM   #14
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by zacdl
Anyway where SHOULD the Iodine be at so I can test and see if it is too low?
If you had the proper test kit that could measure all forms of iodine, 0.06 ppm.

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2005, 04:35 PM   #15
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
Have you started dosing already? Alk and Ca that high without dosing would make me suspect of the test results.
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2005, 02:58 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
schoeplein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,213
As for iodine it helps significantly with Xenia growth - I dose, it grows. I don't dose - it still grows, just not the rapid-duplicating-monster.

If you can test for it - as Steve said above, total iodine levels - add a half-capful and test it in two hours. Keep it at that level. But then again -- 30g tank... I'd be too scared to dose anything with that little water. :| Unless you're interested in Xenia growth, or you just dont want your test kit to go to waste () -- dont dose iodine. :P
__________________

__________________
schoeplein is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
level

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Out of my element, new tank. Marc118 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 02-23-2007 02:16 PM
How to Lower Calcium Levels? What can High Levels Cause? xxnonamexx Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 10-11-2005 04:34 PM
Recommended: Freshwater Trace Element Cocktails krystian Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 07-28-2005 02:40 AM
Trace Element Chemicals zacdl Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 05-25-2005 01:25 AM
Trace element mix XxTitleisTxX Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 05-06-2005 03:50 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.