Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-19-2006, 02:45 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: kansas
Posts: 297
where to put filter?

i have a 90gal tank. recently i bought a sump. where should i have my filter (rena xp3)? should i have the inflow and outflow place in the sump? or is it better that have them in the main tank?
__________________

__________________
Sun~~
leesanhua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2006, 11:55 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: kansas
Posts: 297
hello?....
__________________

__________________
Sun~~
leesanhua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 06:04 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: kansas
Posts: 297
where should i put?
__________________
Sun~~
leesanhua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 11:21 AM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Kind of shocked nobody answered this question. The canister filter would be best placed with the input/output on the tank and not the sump. If you put the intake/outtake in the sump then you could get air bubbles trapped which could cause it to fail. Also you want it on the main tank to increase water movement. It wouldn’t help in the sump.

Edit: Also what are you using for overflow/pump to get the water to and from your sump?
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 04:10 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: kansas
Posts: 297
yes. i am using overflow/pump to get the water to and from your sump. why?
__________________
Sun~~
leesanhua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 04:41 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Was just curious if you had bought your overflow/pump yet and which brand you went with and how you like them.
__________________

__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where to put Aragonite in Filter?? smaxfield General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 07-13-2009 07:49 AM
Just put together my first filter canister; is it right? manoosie General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 08-27-2005 11:36 AM
Where did you put the intake for the canister filter? Franco7 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 05-26-2005 08:58 PM
Ok to put heater in filter? jamal-188 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 07-31-2004 03:06 AM
what kind of media to put in my filter? abelman General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 12 06-09-2004 10:05 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.