Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-23-2005, 09:12 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Feasterville Pa
Posts: 127
Send a message via AIM to msamsonz28
where's my ammonia?

it's been 8 days since i put two raw shrimp in my 55g tank. the shrimp dissapeared after about 4 days. i've tested the ammo a few times and every test has been 0. lr was introduced at the same time and there are things growing on it now. what's the deal? shouldn't the ammo have at least gone up a little by now? i'm using Saltwater Master by Aquarium Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Any help??
__________________

__________________
msamsonz28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2005, 08:42 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: rockport, massachusetts
Posts: 547
Maybe your test kit is bad. You could try putting a few drops of plain old ammonia in a vial of water and test that. If it doesn't register the ammonia, you need a new kit.
__________________

__________________
dianeww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2005, 08:59 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Waxahachie, TX
Posts: 436
Send a message via MSN to mjvincent
I would suspect your kit is bad. If your shrimp is gone you have ammonia and it could be dropping by now.
__________________
Mike Jones
32 gallon hex, 34 lbs lr, Prizm protein skimmer, fluval 104, 1 maxi jet 750, 1 maxi jet 1200 ph, current 40w 50/50 pc, 1 NO powerglo 19watt, 1 daylight NO 65w (equiv), two damsels, 1 green brittlestar, 1 peppermint shrimp, turbo snails, red legged hermit crabs, kenyan tree coral, leather coral, pumping xenia, mushroom coral, green star polyps, orange button polyps
mjvincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2005, 10:32 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 6,703
Where did you get your live rock from? How many pounds?

It is in fact possible to have enough cured live rock from startup, that you won't get detectable ammonia levels. I used a SeaChem ammonia test, using the super sensitive version, which takes 30 mins to get an accurate result. I never had more than 0.01ppm of ammonia in my aquarium.

Take a water sample to your LFS for an ammonia test (which is what I did to confirm my new Seachem kit wasn't bad), or do like Diane suggests and put a couple drops of ammonia in your test vial. It'll probably make it too high to get a proper reading, but you should see a very drastic color change, which'll confirm if the kits still working.
__________________
Former advisor and planted tank geek...life's moved on though.
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2005, 11:32 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Feasterville Pa
Posts: 127
Send a message via AIM to msamsonz28
I got my lr from the lfs...actually didn't even check to see if it was cured or not. but the staff said it would start the cycle so i assumed it was not cured. anyway i put 45 lbs in - looking back should have just went ahead and got 10 more lbs to make it an even 1 to 1. but anyway, i am going to check my test kit with some ammonia to verify it works and take a sample to the lfs as well. thanks for the help, i'll post my results tonight or tomorrow.
__________________
Matt
msamsonz28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2005, 09:03 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Feasterville Pa
Posts: 127
Send a message via AIM to msamsonz28
tested straight ammo with the kit and it didn't even register anything. didn't have time to take a sample in. tomorrow going to do that and return the test kit
__________________
Matt
msamsonz28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2005, 04:59 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Illinois USA
Posts: 125
When I started up my 90 gallon back in December I put in 135# of cured LR and 65 pounds of sand mixed with 20# of LS. I actually added a few fish right off the bat and monitored the tank religiously and I never got any type of ammonia spike. My tank has been doing absolutely awesome. If you get good rock and sand you can avoid a cycle as long as you don't go too crazy with adding specimans right away.
__________________
skennelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2005, 08:43 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Feasterville Pa
Posts: 127
Send a message via AIM to msamsonz28
well i took my water to the lfs for a test and ammonia was zero. in fact they said everything checked good, that i could probably add fish.
__________________

__________________
Matt
msamsonz28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ammonia Blackadder Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 05-23-2006 11:03 AM
ammonia in QT dax29 Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 3 03-29-2005 11:44 AM
Found Ammonia for you fishless ammonia cyclers at Ace TomK2 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 11 03-22-2005 05:06 PM
cant get ammonia down Dayna Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 04-13-2004 11:56 PM
ammonia krap101 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 12 03-09-2004 06:38 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.