Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-29-2003, 03:39 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 42
Send a message via Yahoo to otrovago
Which test kits do you use?

I'm deciding between

Red Sea Test Kits*- Marine Lab or Reef Lab
or
SeaChem Laboratories Test Kits*- Marine Lab or Reef Lab

Is it better to buy the individual test? If so which ones do I need?
__________________

__________________
otrovago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2003, 03:54 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Quote:
Red Sea Test Kits - Marine Lab or Reef Lab
Probably the worst kits available, stay away from these.

Quote:
SeaChem Laboratories Test Kits - Marine Lab or Reef Lab
I think most people are happy with these, I've used the CA in the past and it was always accurate when testing the standard provided.

Another option is Salifert, I use these and they are very accurate and affordable

I prefer to buy individual kits, so you get exactly what you need and don't have several kits you'll never use sitting around
__________________

__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2003, 04:09 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 42
Send a message via Yahoo to otrovago
which test kits do I need?
__________________
otrovago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2003, 04:31 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Raymond, NH
Posts: 916
I'll pretty much echo what RR said. I use Salifert, Seachem are "okay", RedSea are horrid.

I have Nitrate, Calcium, Alkalinity, Phosphate, Magnesium, Strontium, Silicate, and Iodine.
I have a pH monitor (Pinpoint), and a Salinity refractometer.

I'd say you need - Nitrate, Alk, Cal, & Phosphate. Magnesium is also good to have. Strontium and Iodine are next-to-impossible to test for, and the kits are very frustrating. Silicate - only if you are having diatom issues.
You'll definitely need something to test pH and salinity.

You'll also need an ammonia and nitrite kit if you haven't yet gone through a cycle.

HTH,
ReefLady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2003, 04:40 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
Posts: 507
Send a message via ICQ to Gauge Send a message via Yahoo to Gauge
Could you fill us in on the "pH monitor," ReefLady? I'd be interested to see how much they cost, how difficult they are to set up, how large they are, what kind of upkeep they need, etc. I am also assuming this is something that sits on/in your tank/sump?
__________________
- Gauge

92-gallon corner tank, 100lbs of LR, 140lbs of sand, 250watt 10,000K MH, 110watts of actinic PCs, Mag 7 return, custom refugium, AquaC EV180 w/ Mag 5

Female lyretail anthias, eyelash blenny, tomato clown, saddleback clown, firefish goby, 2 sand-sifting stars
Gauge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2003, 07:00 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Raymond, NH
Posts: 916
Gauge,

Here is a link to the pH monitor we bought: -->Pinpoint pH monitor with probe at Premium Aquatics

That link will give you the price & some basic info.

They're not hard at all to set up - you need to initially calibrate with some fluid (which comes with the monitor), and then probe in the sump, monitor where it is convenient/visible for you.

As far as upkeep, we calibrate ours every 4 mos. They need battery replacing now and then, but that's because we keep our display on constantly. If you prefer, there is an 'on/off' switch that gives you the option to trun the LED display on or off at will.

Our probe sits in our sump. The probe cannot be allowed to dry out, but you could also place it in the display tank.

We bought ours when we built our calcium reactor - pH test kits didn't measure pH at the levels we needed to test. I love it though, since pH varies constantly from before lights on to just before lights out, I can glance at it whenever I want to make sure everything is "okay". It is also very accurate.

HTH,
ReefLady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2003, 10:47 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MO
Posts: 170
I also use Salifert & currently test for ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, Alk & pH

From what I've read & been told their the #1 tests kits available.

I get mine here.........
http://www.aquadirect.com/catalog/testkit/salifert.htm
__________________

__________________
..· ´¨¨)) -:¦:-
¸.·´ .·´¨¨))
((¸¸.·´ ..·´ Swishy-:¦:-
-:¦:- ((¸¸.·´*

Compaired to men....whatever women do must be done twice as hard to be thought of half as good.
swishyfishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ich, test, test kits

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
test kits... ntswift Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 06-05-2006 10:52 PM
Chemical Test Strips VS. Test Kits thetmaxx General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 03-16-2006 10:54 AM
Does this mean my test kits are off? cgcaver Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 08-15-2005 02:00 AM
Test kits vs. test strips AquaBear Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 06-17-2004 11:01 PM
Test strips or liquid test kits? yellowjacket171 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 6 08-28-2003 04:12 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.