Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-20-2006, 01:55 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 514
Send a message via AIM to Civicman86
Who can make a custom tank? Need wierd deminsions for sump.

I need to find someone that can make a tank that has wierd deminsions. Whos the cheapest for the quality?
__________________

__________________
-Dustin

http://home.insightbb.com/~civicman86/FishSig.jpg
Pics and specs coming soon...
Civicman86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2006, 01:56 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 783
Any custom tank will cost you $$$. Are you wanting acrylic? There are some great DIY guides around here.

I believe sumps go more on volume, with the dimension of the main tank not having an effect.
__________________

__________________
Marc118 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2006, 03:16 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 514
Send a message via AIM to Civicman86
Well the sump has to go in my stand. It has to be able to be dropped in from the top <=18'' wide. It can be up to 48'' long. It can be no taller than 20''.

I will get some pics of the stand tonight and post exactly what I am trying to accomplish with this.

Glass or acrylic does not matter to me. Whichever will be cheaper since it will only be used as a sump (place for skimmer, small aread for some ls and cheato, bubble trap, etc).
__________________
-Dustin

http://home.insightbb.com/~civicman86/FishSig.jpg
Pics and specs coming soon...
Civicman86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2006, 03:19 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 783
What size is the main tank? You could easily get a premade glass tank for that.
__________________
Come Join The Dark Side
Marc118 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2006, 03:21 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 514
Send a message via AIM to Civicman86
Main is 75gallon.

All the main tanks that are in the area of 48'' are to tall to fit in the area that im trying to get them to fit in.


Another Idea i had was have half the tank stand have a 24'' long tank and maybe 24 tall. Then have that tank connect to a another smaller shorter tank on the other side of the stand for slow moving water through a fuge type setup. give me about to mins and Ill go take a pic of the stand and make a quick sketch.
__________________
-Dustin

http://home.insightbb.com/~civicman86/FishSig.jpg
Pics and specs coming soon...
Civicman86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2006, 03:23 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 783
Yea you could do a DIY 30g sump with a premade tank no problem.
__________________
Come Join The Dark Side
Marc118 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2006, 03:29 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 514
Send a message via AIM to Civicman86
Well it looks like I might be able to do a 40 long underneath there. I dont know why I was thinking that none would fit :-\

On the other hand how much would it cost for a tank just shorter than a 40long but the same width and height? Cost of glass that is. I dont mind doing a DIY project for it. How thick should glass be?
__________________
-Dustin

http://home.insightbb.com/~civicman86/FishSig.jpg
Pics and specs coming soon...
Civicman86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2006, 03:41 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 783
A 30 normal is 36x12x16. 10 in shorter and 1 in shorter width.

I have a 40g sump in my stand no problem though.
__________________
Come Join The Dark Side
Marc118 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2006, 03:41 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 514
Send a message via AIM to Civicman86
Here are two designs I have looked at.

Im just afraid having the 40 would be two big for me to do maintance in. The 40 long would work . It would be a close fit between the top of the tank and the shelf, but I mesaured the 12'' high conservatively. If worse some to worse I could move the shelf up and inch or so.
Attached Images
File Type: gif tank_612.gif (135.7 KB, 16 views)
__________________
-Dustin

http://home.insightbb.com/~civicman86/FishSig.jpg
Pics and specs coming soon...
Civicman86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2006, 03:43 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 783
I wouldnt do 2 tanks IMO, have everything in one, just use the tank for the DIY sump/fuge.
__________________

__________________
Come Join The Dark Side
Marc118 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
custom, custom tank, sump, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
If you've done a custom tank/sump... dskidmore General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 06-07-2008 08:17 AM
Is it ok to make custom plumbing for a canister? Legacy General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 03-09-2006 12:19 PM
Looking for someone in the TX area to make custom aquarium Scatcat Southern States 4 05-30-2005 10:36 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.