Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-23-2006, 10:14 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Mrsfuller2572's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: North Central Kentucky
Posts: 105
Why do I need a plenum before adding LR to a new tank?

I was advised to set up a plenum before adding LR. Can anyone PLEASE tell what this is and why I need it?
I have a 55g. that is not yet set-up. I have the powerheads, and ordered the skimmer. As soon as they're both set up and ready, I will begin cycling the tank with substrate only.
Thanks.
It's all greek to me...and a bit overwhelming, I might add!
__________________

__________________
Jeri
www.marykay.com/jfuller2
Free shipping on first order
Mrsfuller2572 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2006, 01:41 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: vancouver island
Posts: 526
Hey,

Allow me to clarify and confuse the matter even more. Just to give you a heads up...You WILL go through periods of confusion with this hobby, they come in waves and the frequency of these waves is directly related to the amount of reading/research you do. Research is GREAT, but it opens up many more doors to things you didn't anticipate, and will seem to complicate everything just a wee bit more.

You don't need a plenum before adding LR, because, quite frankly, they aren't usually even recommended or used that much anymore. A DSB, (deep sand bed), is generally regarded as the most successful option for your denitrifying substrate method. I won't bother going into too much depth, but the DSB, used WITH your LR for biological filtration by providing surface area for beneficial bacteria to grow. A plenum is a layered substrate bed elevated with a platform that allows a space underneath as a dead water zone, which is believed to stop the accumulation of nitrates.

There are a couple of different points of view regarding having a sand substrate present during LR curing and cycling in the setup of a new tank. If the LR has lots of die-off, some believe that it will accumulate on the sand, get mixed in and rot without getting a chance to be purged from the system. Others believe that after time, you'll be good to go and that its not a big deal.

If you have a good skimmer and LOTS of circulation from powerheads, then you'll be fine with putting the sand in then the LR, and starting your cycle. If not, you can just put the LR in cycle the tank while curing your rock and use a pvc pipe/funnel to pour your sand through (to avoid a sandstorm) after the cycle.

Another option is to cure your LR seperately, but if you can live with the smell in the house, and it probably will smell pretty foul, its most beneficial to cure it in your main tank, plus its cheaper.
__________________

__________________
ryguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2006, 01:52 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 300
Good post. No need for a plenum...not even adviseable really, for someone new IMO.
__________________
demodiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2006, 11:11 PM   #4
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
its also ok to cycle your tank with uncured liverock too right?
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2006, 11:30 AM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
Quote:
Originally Posted by marty_wolff
its also ok to cycle your tank with uncured liverock too right?
Yep
__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
plenum, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why ditch the Plenum? bj5z25 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 07-01-2005 01:31 PM
Plenum Research toddwess Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 7 02-17-2004 09:45 AM
Plenum problem?? sacramentofish Saltwater Reef Aquaria 21 01-09-2004 09:26 PM
Plenum questions cashman Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 11-19-2003 11:43 PM
Plenum??? Yes or No? GOMSU79 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 05-22-2003 11:18 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.