Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-12-2013, 08:54 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jonnypro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 388
Will i have a cycle. Going from a 20g to a 135g

I will use the old sand to seed and be using all my live rock from that tank. I have cured dry rock that I am adding along with new sand. My live stock is 2 damsels 1 maroon clown 1 Picasso trigger 1 coral banded shrimp 3 hermit crabs 2 snails and a few small local crabs my son caught. My lighting For the New tank will be 120w full spectrum dimmable. I have a Sump sump as well that will be a refugium.
__________________

__________________
Jonnypro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 12:06 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jonnypro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 388
Bump. Anyone?
__________________

__________________
Jonnypro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 12:13 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Stlrockguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Posts: 1,179
I'm not sure but I would. You are adding a lot more rock that isnt cured and your BB has to build up. Someone will correct me if I'm wrong
__________________
Stlrockguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 12:16 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Stlrockguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Posts: 1,179
Missed the part about your dry rock being cured.
__________________
Stlrockguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 12:21 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jonnypro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stlrockguy View Post
I'm not sure but I would. You are adding a lot more rock that isnt cured and your BB has to build up. Someone will correct me if I'm wrong
I am going to be using the bb in a bottle and all my live rock that is dry has been cured.
__________________
Jonnypro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 12:29 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Stlrockguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Posts: 1,179
Hopefully someone will jump in. I'm about to set up a 150 and I'm getting a deal on130# of Fiji live rock from someone getting out of the hobby. I plan on cycling mine for a couple weeks at least. Never can be to careful in this hobby
__________________
Stlrockguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 03:30 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Masoniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 606
If the new sand you are using is live sand you'll see a cycle. If you are going to add the fish make sure you keep up on water changes to keep ammonia and nitrates down.
__________________
Masoniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 04:08 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,569
If you transfer all the live rock from your old tank the same time you transfer the fish there MIGHT be a mini cycle but with the sheer volume of the tank I doubt it will register, especially if you are using a skimmer. Keep in mind that there is plenty of BB on the rock you already have to handle the bio load of your fish. As long as you give things a few weeks to settle out before adding new fish then everything should be just fine.
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 04:12 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Animal-Chin's Avatar

Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,315
I'd guess with an upgrade that big you'll see some cycle. 4 fish in a 120 is a pretty small bioload though and your rock from the 20g should have some bacteria on it already so the cycle should be small If I had to guess. Can you set up the 120 with all the rock and leave the fish with the sand in the 20 for a couple of weeks?
__________________
Animal-Chin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 05:35 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jonnypro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by Animal-Chin View Post
I'd guess with an upgrade that big you'll see some cycle. 4 fish in a 120 is a pretty small bioload though and your rock from the 20g should have some bacteria on it already so the cycle should be small If I had to guess. Can you set up the 120 with all the rock and leave the fish with the sand in the 20 for a couple of weeks?
I could probably do that. The thing I have learned in this hobby -especially saltwater- is patients. If you don't have that then you will be putting more time on the job. I do not have 150lbs of rock yet. I only have about 75. And I packed out the 20g with a little more then half of that rock. I am not using live sand. I am using sand from home depot that is safe for marine. I just have to wash the hell out of it. And I have a bubble Mag 6 skimmer.
__________________

__________________
Jonnypro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.