Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-18-2014, 09:40 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 168
Will my tank cycle if I use established live rock?

I set up my first nano reef a couple of days ago with established and cured live rock from a friends tank. Will still cycle? I've tested the water daily and not seen any ammonia, nitrites or nitrates so I don't really know what's going on. If you have any advice then please let me know!


Sent from my iPod touch using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
harrytownend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2014, 09:46 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TheTodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Posts: 3,110
It should cycle, just faster, as you already have beneficial bacteria in the rock. What are you using as an ammonia source? To cycle, you need ammonia.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
TheTodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2014, 09:52 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 168
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1408366272.776205.jpg
Views:	80
Size:	252.9 KB
ID:	247182 I read here that it might not cycle. As for ammonia, I thought that the live rock would have some die-off which would create ammonia.


Sent from my iPod touch using Aquarium Advice
__________________
harrytownend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2014, 09:53 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 168
If not then I'll let a shrimp decompose in the tank to start it off. Which way would you recommend?


Sent from my iPod touch using Aquarium Advice
__________________
harrytownend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2014, 12:14 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TheTodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Posts: 3,110
Will my tank cycle if I use established live rock?

Dose pure ammonia (places like Ace Hardware sell it, I've been told) to 4ppm and see if it goes back to zero within 24 hours. Dr Tim's also sells this (which is what I've always used. If buying from somewhere like Ace, you want it non-scented, no bubbles after shaking. If it goes to zero ( or really close ), you have enough BB and you are good. If there was die off, then there should at least be the end result of nitrates. Odds are, if you add fish slowly, you will be okay, but testing can't hurt.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
TheTodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2014, 12:32 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 168
I'm in the uk so I can't get to any of those shops but I'll look on amazon.


Sent from my iPod touch using Aquarium Advice
__________________
harrytownend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2014, 12:36 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 168
Does it have to be aquarium ammonia or can I use something like this Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1408376172.615585.jpg
Views:	73
Size:	96.9 KB
ID:	247189


Sent from my iPod touch using Aquarium Advice
__________________
harrytownend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2014, 12:38 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 168
If parameters stay the same for a couple of weeks I might try a clown goby


Sent from my iPod touch using Aquarium Advice
__________________
harrytownend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2014, 12:44 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 168
Just tested my ammonia again and this is what I gotClick image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1408376635.590867.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	184.7 KB
ID:	247190

What does that mean?!


Sent from my iPod touch using Aquarium Advice
__________________
harrytownend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2014, 12:47 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 168
I did another test and it just stayed clear. It did the same thing this morning


Sent from my iPod touch using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
harrytownend is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, live, live rock, rock, tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding live rock to established tank Jschier Nano Reefs 5 07-19-2013 06:55 PM
Has anyone added Live Rock to an established tank? Flyingbulldog Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 01-16-2013 10:54 PM
Adding live rock or dry base rock to established BC14? Dan91369 Nano Reefs 4 04-01-2012 10:12 AM
Adding live rock to an established tank aquarius75 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 5 01-19-2009 10:12 PM
Dead rock - Live rock - Cured rock - Uncured rock Charlie Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 07-08-2006 08:44 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.