Would like to switch from fresh to salt need advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Hondanation09

Aquarium Advice Activist
Like the thread title suggests I would like to switch. building new house so I feel timing is right. Really like marineland cubes 93g but open to something else with similar capacity. The wall I have in mind is only 36 inches long...no restrictions on height but really do not want depth exceeding 24-30 inches.

Since I am new to salt, what would I need exactly to run an efficient reef aquarium...filters, skimmers, lighting, live rocks, sand, heaters, chillers, etc.

I need expert advice on what this build should have to run a healthy aquarium and if possible some quotes on what everything should cost...separately if possible. I live in Ontario by the way so any local store referencing would help if possible .

Before you begin with the equipment you'll need to decide what you wanna stock to get the most out of your buck and best results. Do you want a reef tank or just fowlr (fish only with live rock).. and welcome to AA by the way :)

Really would prefer reef but am open to fish and live rock only. Really like true percula clowns, but even regal tang, angels, dotty backs. The clowns are a must (2) anything else would be gravy. I have kept a 15 allon successful with 5 tiger barbs, 4 glolight danios for 1 and a half years thus far.

If your doing in wall is running the plumbing and filtration into the basement or the room behind the tank an option?

I'm converting my saltwater FOWLER tank to a reef as we speak and have been doing some research on it. From what I've read on forums and on different websites, different opinions vary as to what equipment is the best. As far as standard things you will need, here is a link that can get you started on research.

www.fishlore.com/reeftanksetup.htm