Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-25-2004, 04:47 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mass
Posts: 264
Would this work?

I had someone tell that he could take gravel from his tank (that was established) and add some to a brand new just setup tank and it would be ready for fish that day. Could this ever work or is he full of it?
__________________

__________________
rdefino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2004, 04:50 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 536
Basically, he's full of it.
There's a grain of truth in it, but not much more than a grain. Jeff
__________________

__________________
In theory there should be no difference between theory and practice. In practice, there is.
Cafe Jeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2004, 04:52 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 6,703
Basically he's stretching some truth into an outright lie. The sand does contain good bacteria...but a small scoop is only going to seed a new tank with bacteria...it still has to populate into large enough colonies to support fish and other life.
__________________
Former advisor and planted tank geek...life's moved on though.
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2004, 05:06 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Quote:
I had someone tell that he could take gravel from his tank (that was established) and add some to a brand new just setup tank and it would be ready for fish that day
Change that to read.

I had someone tell that he could take gravel from his tank (that was established) and add some to a brand new just setup tank and it would be ready for A fish that day.

Then it would have some truth to it. The bactera bed will not grow to a level to support the ammonia production of a full fish load in just a few hours.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
what does everyone do for work? hemmer Aquaria Off-Topic 112 09-19-2007 11:19 AM
which one will work better ? FloridaNewbie Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 8 11-26-2006 03:04 AM
will this work? patagonia Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 11-05-2005 09:06 AM
Will this work.... SquishyFish Freshwater & Brackish - Coldwater, Native Fish & Ponds 2 05-06-2004 09:13 AM
Would it work? Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 02-10-2004 10:15 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.