Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 12-19-2011, 11:28 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
Red face Yelow Tang in 28 Gal Nano

Hi everyone. I'm new to Aquarium Advice.com, and this is my first thread. I have a 28 Gal Nano Tank with an LED hood. My inhabitants are salt water fish, soft corals and inverts. I hae a clown fish, royal gamma basslet and recently added a small yellow tang. I realized recently that the yellow tang needs a minimum 75 Gal tank. It is a beautiful addition and doing quite well. I'd hate to give it up. What is the problem with the tang in a smaller tank ? I know that they grow to about 6 ", but how fast ? Can it survive in my tank if I take certain measures to insure survivability ? Should I emove it ? Please advise. Ive had it for about two weeks.

pondguy427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 11:31 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
They usually get stressed out and die in smaller tanks, they grow pretty quick, if I were you I would remove him, it's not fair on the fish...

TomStav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 11:39 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
to AA!

The problem with keeping tangs in such a small tank is that they outgrow it really fast, no tang could ever fit in a 29 gallon tank. The get big, around 10-12 inches long, and are very active and need a lot of room. If you aren't going to upgrade, that's not fair to the fish, so I would suggest giving it back to the store.
"If you're not making mistakes, then you're not doing anything. I'm positive that a doer makes mistakes."
--John Wooden
bruinsbro1997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 11:39 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion
Welcome to the forum!!