10 Gallon Betta Tank Restart

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Julixttx

Aquarium Advice Activist
I have an old 10 gallon tank and I decided after using it for a lizard to turn it into a betta tank. I originally was going to make an endler tank, but I decided against that because I'm eager to start this tank. I'll be able to get large healthy bettas from my local pet smart and so I'm planning on getting a blue coloured betta, against a black background and a black gravel ground with blue mixed through. I was going to also put in live and fake plants, driftwood, and some types of rocks. But since I'm new to a betta tank this big, I was wondering if there was any advice anyone could give me for this? Or supplies I might need?

My main idea though was to see if there are anything I can put with the betta, preferably fish.

Slightly newbish.

5 Gallon Betta Tank

Bettas normally don't do well with other fish, but I've heard they get along fine with cories. Just be careful with Petsmart...they are not generally known for taking good care of their fish. But maybe your Petsmart is better.

I will be sure they go well. And corys are the catfish right? I could put 2 in the tank with the betta maybe?

Slightly newbish.

5 Gallon Betta Tank

And the only difference between a tiny tank and a slightly less tiny 10 gallon tank is you can fit more stuff into a 10 and you will need more filtration (and the betta will be much happier ?).

What filtration should I use? And would a betta and 4 Cories fit into the tank?

Here's the tank in the beginning stages!!
ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1424901647.439083.jpg

The tank in the back is going to be the hospital tank. I'm going to replace the lights with LEDs. do bettas need a heater?

Slightly newbish.

5 Gallon Betta Tank