10 gallon stocking advice?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

KhloeM

Aquarium Advice Activist
hey everyone! i'm taking a break from studying for my final exams to write this post ;) so i have an empty cycled 10 gallon freshwater tank, and i was wondering what i could put into it. i'll make lists of what i definitely don't want and what i've been considering below. thanks in advance to anyone who helps!! :)

fish that i DON'T want:
•dwarf gouramis
•rummy nose tetras
•guppies
•platys (i don't think they can go in a tank of that size anyways)
•neon tetras

fish i've been considering:
•two bettas (divided tank of course; i have a lot of experience with bettas and i looove them!)
•a betta sorority (i'd love love love to do this, but i'm soo nervous to try it because i won't know what to do if it doesn't work out!)
•dwarf puffers (would two males work in there? or two females?)
•cory catfish (which specific kind of cory would fit in my tank, and should i have other fish besides just corys?)
•a pair of balloon mollies (okay, if these fish can't fit in this tank i will NOT get them!! this is only an idea, but i do not know if they can go in this size tank, so please be nice if i'm mistaken ;) also, are balloon mollies unhealthy? i feel bad for them because they look as if they have trouble swimming, but they're so darn cute!)

those lists are just a few ideas. i understand there are many more options out there, so if you have any ideas, just tell them to me! i'll be glad to hear any of them! i also wouldn't mind just having a single fish in there, as long as the fish is active and colorful (and also not super tiny!) thanks again everyone!!

So to start with the things you've been considering:
  1. 2 bettas - Sure, as long as you have a way to block line of sight then this would work fine