10 gallon tank + 6 white clouds

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MartinBlank

Aquarium Advice Freak
I am a novice at this but have done a fair bit of research.

I have a 10 gallon tank + filter + heater. Currently home to 6 white clouds. They appear to be doing well (they are eating etc) but I do have a couple (or several) questions.

1a. They recently seem to be a bit less active. They kinda hover down in the back of the tank near the bottom. When they were first introduced (3 at a time) they swam all over the place but now only occasionally do they wander around the rest of the tank. Any ideas as to why this might be? With the coming of spring it has been getting warmer in the house, and we haven't switched on the AC yet, so it is possible the water has warmed up a bit. When we first set up the tank I would say the water temp was 74 or so, and now it might be reaching 76. Could two degrees make that much difference? Or am I barking up the wrong tree? I have tested for Ammonia and Nitrates and they have consistently come back in good ranges.

1b. Also related to temperature. If you recommend I cool off the tank, I currently have a hood with fluorescent lights built in and then a small door at the front (so when it is lifted I would say about 40%-50% of the top of the tank is exposed to the air). I was thinking of leaving that door open to attempt to cool it off. Do I need to worry about jumpers (assuming they become their former more active selves of course)? I have also heard running a desk fan across the open tank top to help cool it, but would prefer to avoid a big desk fan near the tank. Are there any mini-clip on types out there?