10g Betta Tank Cycle Log

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ocminpin

Aquarium Advice Addict
This is my first time doing a fish-in cycle. Betta moved from 2g bowl to 10g tank.

Testing using API Master Test kit

OUT OF TAP:

Ph-- 7.4
Am-- 0 ppm
Nitrite-- 0 ppm
Nitrate-- 10 ppm

10 gallon Tank: Male Crowntail Betta

Filled and started with fresh everything 24 hrs ago. Conditioned with Prime

Results after 24 hrs:

Ph-- 7.4
Am-- 0 ppm
Nitrite-- 0 ppm
Nitrate-- 40 ppm

Mumma.of.two said:
Hey!
Are your sure? I cant see how it could jump 30ppm in 24 hours.... :confused: did you use seeded media?

My tap has tested 10... Was steadily 20 for a few days and then was 30 one day last week...
Why would there be such a Jump in tap nitrates?

No seeded media... I could wipe some of the gunk BB on the bettas filter pad....
New rocks/gravel substrate, bleached rock decoration, bleach plastic plants.
Only thing that transferred was his rock cave... Usually got rinsed in tap water once a week but I moved it right over to tank..

I'd add some filter media from one of your other tanks. If you add enough you might not even get a cycle. I instantly cycled my 10g with media from my 70g canister. I had 4 harlequin rasboras in there from day one and no ammonia or nitrite at all. 2 weeks later I added my Betta in with them.

Mumma.of.two said:
I'd add some filter media from one of your other tanks. If you add enough you might not even get a cycle. I instantly cycled my 10g with media from my 70g canister. I had 4 harlequin rasboras in there from day one and no ammonia or nitrite at all. 2 weeks later I added my Betta in with them.

Can I take my Nasty brown sticky BB filled filter pad and wipe it on the back of the clean 10g pad?

Mumma.of.two said:
That might transfer some but not much. Can you cut a piece off and add it in beside the cartridge on the 10?