10g Tank Cycling: Ammonia not dropping

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

oceanblue

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I’m new to aquarium hobby. I didn’t know about the nitrification process when I bought my 10G tank couple months ago. The LFS owner gave a pamphlet about the nitrification process and recommended to start the cycle with 2 feeder fish. First the fish were infected with fungus, and eventually died in 2 weeks. Only when I was reading about the fungus, I came to know about fishless cycle. After the fishes died, I started with fishless cycle (on Sep 9th). This is what I was doing during the cycling process.

• Heater set to 85 F
  • Dosing about 4ppm of pure ammonia ever other day
  • Testing the water parameters after adding ammonia
  • Adding bacterial supplement (TopFin) during water top-up/change
Nitrite started building up in about 2 weeks, and ammonia was dropping to zero in 24 hrs after dosing 4ppm. When the nitrite reached to 5ppm, I did pwc couple times; this is when I think I made a mistake, I added the dechlorinator only after adding the water to the tank. Since then, ammonia is not dropping; nitrite stays in zero and not raising. Did the bacterial colony get damaged during the water change? What should I do now? Thanks for all your comments and suggestions.

I don't think you should use the bacterial supplement. It will create a unstable bio filter. What are you testing the water with?

I have not done a fish LESS cycle but the BB in your filter most likely was killed off or mostly killed off by the untreated water you added to the tank so essentially you are probably starting the cycling process over again. I did a fish IN cycle with my 10g & it took 8 wks to complete so be patient as it could take awhile.