120 Setup

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

hydrashocker

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Newbie here, but not to forums.

It's been about 5 years sense I had my semi pot planted setup community freshwater tank, so I've gone to the stores to see what has changed. Well quite a bit has, as usual things come and go in aquatics. Anyway, I moved which it sat in storage for a while. I brought my tank with me, which I found cracks in the top encasement so the tank was replaced, and now it's time to set it back up. I'm having issues because I don't know what exactly to do and I'm very frustrated. :banghead:

One thing that always used to bother me is that I would have fish die with no reason or sign of disease, yet sometimes there would be signs of unknown disease. And maybe it was due to set up and having an UGF, I don't know. Many experts were perplexed, maybe toxicity. Anyway this is what I used to have;

1 - Penn-Plax Cascade Heater 300 watt
2 - UGF because of size
2 - Maxi-Jet 900 a top of the UGF
2 - Coralife model 53005 at 65 watts each
2 - Emperor 400 HOB filters
2" gravel

I've heard yes and no still in the use of UGF's, so I really don't know what to do. I want to have some crabs and/or possibly shrimp, and a semi aggressive tank so I can have a bit larger fish community tank. I really want another bushy nose plako and I loved my striped Raphael cats as well.