2 Goldfish and 1 Dead Snail

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

LightRaven

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello Everyone!

I would appreciate some advice here.

I am very new to fish keeping. However, my brother has been helping me out... he had Oscars for almost 10 years. One month ago, I bought my daughter a Black Moor Goldfish (Nero) for her 2nd birthday.
A few days later, my brother added a fancy goldfish to the tank (Rex) for his daughter. Along with Nero and Rex, I also added a black mystery snail, Gary (yes, like in Spongebob), to the tank.

Aside from Nero being particularly pushy (he bugs Rex alot, but no fins are being munched on and Rex doesn't seem to care), the three have lived in harmony for the past month. Tonight after coming in from work, my brother had informed me that he believed that Gary went to the fish farm in the sky.

Now, I was told by the petstore employees that when a snail dies, they float. He was not floating. After further examination of the tank, I concluded that Gary's shell was empty. I noticed a small brownish disk in the gravel towards the back of the tank and had my brother fish it out... I found out through some googling that it was apparently Gary's "Door".. which keeps crabs and such from digging snails out.