Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 09-12-2019, 04:44 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

20 Gallon Setup and Stocking

Hello all,

I am brand new to the hobby. I had a 5gal when I was a kid with 3 tiger barbs for some reason from Walmart. But that was ages ago.
Now my friend is giving me a 20 gallon long, used as a terrarium for a while, and I wanted to convert it to an aquarium.

What filter/pump/heater would be good for a tropical aquarium? I plan on doing an fishless cycle before I stock with anything.

My water has pH 7.2 and gH of 45ppm according to my city's website

I was planning on stocking with:
6 peppered cories a local hobbyist bred and is giving me
8-10 of a suitable tetra/rasbora/barb (suggestions?)
1-3 honey gourami or similar centerpiece

How does this stocking sound?
Any other awesome stocking recommendations? I'm wide open.
And what plants would be good, if any? Or should I stick to fake?

Thanks so much!

Old 09-13-2019, 12:56 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic

There are a ton of beginner live plants. I highly recommend anubias, water wisteria, anacharis and any aquatic mosses.
If you want to do barbs stick to the smaller cherry barbs.
If you wanted tetras you could do black neons or cardinal tetras as they are smaller and more hardy than regular neon tetras. I had pristella tetras in my 20 gallon (when I had it set up) and they were great.
You could do a non heated tank and do white cloud minnows.
For a heater look for something around 150 watts. Most filters are labeled with the size tank they go with, you could also go with a size bigger. Air stones are optional depending on your filtration and if you have live plants.

Old 09-13-2019, 06:05 PM   #3
Grand Poobah of Fish Poo

Quote:
Originally Posted by texburgess View Post
Hello all,