20 gallon stocking: African dwarf frog tankmates

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ulrichsd

Aquarium Advice Freak
I currently have a 60 g mbuna tank and have an unused 20g long. My daughter would like a frog so I was thinking of getting a few African dwarf frogs.

Can anyone recommend some tank mates? Was thinking maybe some kuhli loaches, a betta and/or a group of small schooling fish like neons or rasboras?

Thanks!

Rasboras and neons would be good with them. I don't know about loaches, I have no experience with them. I have my dwarf frogs in with my balloon mollies and a platy and some cories. That tank used to have Serpaes in it. The frogs do their own thing. Just make sure they have plants or caves to hide in. (Mine like plants, but there are other decorations for them should they choose them.)

Thanks! From what I've read it seems bettas and af dw frogs do pretty well together... So maybe those and then undecided between some small schooling fish or kuhli loaches. Decisions, decisions :)

Why not JUST African Dwarf Frogs? You are likely to see more activity from the frogs if they don't have any other tank mates. They are known to be quite shy and have poor vision and cannot compete with fish for food. They are generally very social with each other. They are full of antics at feeding time though a more timid frog may require some coaxing to come forth to eat. I'm sure your daughter will truly enjoy them.

That is certainly an option. I thought 20 g might be a big tank for just dwarf frogs, but it might be nice to have a low maintenance tank vs my overstocked Mbuna tank... Which takes about 30-40 minutes to clean the can filter and do a 50% wc weekly... Although I know that is nothing compared to the work some people on here do with multiple tanks!