20 Long Tank, 3 Goldfish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dtholden

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello all I am new to the sight and only 2 months into owning fish. I have consumed enormous amounts of aquarium and fish related data over those few months. Much of that info that was beneficial to me I learned as I went and sometimes after I had made certain errors, others I read before I made mistakes. All in all it has been an enjoyable experience.

This first post is directed at my 20 L tank which currently holds very young goldfish. 3 to be exact, a Black Moor, a Fantail, and a Red Cap Oranda. I am now aware of the 20 gallon base for one gold and adding 10 gallons per additional Gold which means I should be operating a 40 Gallon tank for these guys. My question for now, well a few questions but I'll begin with the first is this. Will these guys who are quite small compared to their potential size, all roughly 3 inches be ok in this 20 long which is currently filtered by two 20 gallon filters, weekly water changes, water quality is perfect, check ammonia often at home and at my local aquarium for at least a few months. I have every intention of moving them to a 40L when money and time permits and I find out if my second floor apartment can handle the weight of an aquarium that will double the water weight in my room.

I am not in the business of putting my fish through harm I only feel that at their current size, rushing to a 40G at this moment seems drastic and unnecessary. Willing to learn, I'm humble and looking forward to your comments. Thank you! Also if anyone is interested here are their names, BM: Oswald, FT: Sprox, RCO: Jules Verne

Thanks again!

Dylan

dtholden said: