Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-08-2019, 08:13 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 7
3 day cycle

Hi!

Started upp a new 130 gallon tank. Moved over filter media from well established 50 gallon tank, added a bag of Juwel BioBoost and a full dose of Easy-Life EasyStart bacteria. Also used plants from same 50 gallon tank.

Did a water test yesterday, showing 0ppm ammonia, nitrite and nitrate. Put in 3 guppies and a 5" gibbiceps, and did another test today. Still showing 0 in all three.

Is this possible? Can I consider the tank cycled?

Cheers
__________________

__________________
eligri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2019, 08:20 AM   #2
ZxC
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ZxC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Forest City, Ontario
Posts: 1,392
There is no cycle if you swapped over all the seeded media. That is what is supposed to happen.

There is likely some NO3 there, the API kit usually gives some sort of false reading and is really only good for a "ballpark" figure.
__________________

__________________
____________________________________________

If it were easy we wouldn't be here
ZxC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2019, 08:33 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 7
Ahh, ok!

Thought there would atleast be a 1-2 week cycle.

At what rate can I start moving fish over? Got some gouramis that should be relocated.
__________________
eligri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2019, 08:38 AM   #4
ZxC
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ZxC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Forest City, Ontario
Posts: 1,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by eligri View Post
Ahh, ok!

Thought there would atleast be a 1-2 week cycle.

At what rate can I start moving fish over? Got some gouramis that should be relocated.
All of them should be fine if you swapped over all the media.
__________________
____________________________________________

If it were easy we wouldn't be here
ZxC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2019, 08:48 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZxC View Post
All of them should be fine if you swapped over all the media.
Cheers! Thanks for the info

Only moved 1/3-1/2 the media, so will just do a few to start.
__________________
eligri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2019, 09:09 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
m.j.gomez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Farmington, n.m.
Posts: 95
Hello, if cycle has established then there should be at least some nitrates(NO3,5.0+). I would keep testing daily. I learned the hard way that even if you seed w/cycled media you can & probably will have some sort of ammonia or nitrite spike!!!! Hope thid helps!
__________________
m.j.gomez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2019, 10:05 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BBradbury's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4,765
Instant Tank Cycling

Quote:
Originally Posted by eligri View Post
Hi!

Started upp a new 130 gallon tank. Moved over filter media from well established 50 gallon tank, added a bag of Juwel BioBoost and a full dose of Easy-Life EasyStart bacteria. Also used plants from same 50 gallon tank.

Did a water test yesterday, showing 0ppm ammonia, nitrite and nitrate. Put in 3 guppies and a 5" gibbiceps, and did another test today. Still showing 0 in all three.

Is this possible? Can I consider the tank cycled?

Cheers
Hello el...

You really only needed to move the filter media to the new tank to instantly cycle it. You didn't need all the chemicals, just the water conditioner. I doubt the dissolved waste from a few, small fish would register in 130 gallons of water. So, it's not surprising the water chemistry is good. You can add more fish, but do it fairly slowly and test the water every day or two to make sure the bacteria is working.

B
__________________
"Fear not, my young apprentice. Just change the tank water."
BBradbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2019, 10:11 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by BBradbury View Post
Hello el...

You really only needed to move the filter media to the new tank to instantly cycle it. You didn't need all the chemicals, just the water conditioner. I doubt the dissolved waste from a few, small fish would register in 130 gallons of water. So, it's not surprising the water chemistry is good. You can add more fish, but do it fairly slowly and test the water every day or two to make sure the bacteria is working.

B
So no need to add more Easy-Life EasyStart when doing a waterchange in a few days?
__________________
eligri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2019, 10:23 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BBradbury's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4,765
Instant Tank Cycling

Quote:
Originally Posted by eligri View Post
So no need to add more Easy-Life EasyStart when doing a waterchange in a few days?
el..

No need to use a bacteria starter. This stuff isn't that reliable. The bacteria is already in the new tank. Your new tank was instantly cycled when you introduced the bacteria in the media from the established tank. Now, you simply monitor the water chemistry every day or two to make sure the new bacteria is doing it's job of removing the ammonia and nitrite. If you do have a positive test, then remove and replace roughly a quarter of the water and replace it with treated tap water. This will get the water chemistry back into the safe zone for the fish and continue to grow the bacteria.

B
__________________
"Fear not, my young apprentice. Just change the tank water."
BBradbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2019, 12:34 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
King Fisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Nevada
Posts: 2,800
I'd add all your fish considering you upgraded your tank nearly 3x the size of your previous tank. Your seeded bacteria needs an ammonia source to grow. BB will die back if the ammonia source is less.
__________________

__________________
King Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sunny Day, Sunny Day - This coral chases the Blues Away - On Super Sale!! AquariumDepot Vendor Spotlight (Deals, Announcements & More) 0 11-02-2012 05:22 PM
Day 25 - Day 29 of tank cycle koz Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 05-31-2011 07:14 PM
Day / night cycle Stoffer Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 09-13-2003 11:28 PM
Feed them once a day?, or Once every other day? JamesMJ2 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 09-01-2003 11:20 PM
day by day 7 dead guppies jackie Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 5 06-06-2003 05:11 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.