30 gallon long planted build

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Parrot

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi, my name is Luke, and I recently made a new account on this forum. From what I've seen so far, it seems like there a lot of experienced people with a lot of good advice. With that being said, I would like to introduce my idea and what I have in mind for this thread and my tank.

I am undoubtedly going to need some help as I set up, cycle, and stock this tank, as this is only my second time setting up a tank. My hope is that I will be able to post updates on this thread so that people can notify when I'm doing everything wrong. :)

As for the tank, I bought it recently off of craigslist and plan to make a freshwater planted tank. I was really intrigued when I saw many peoples' beautiful aquascapes and decided I would try it out myself. I am not a complete newbie, as I have run a 29 gallon freshwater community tank for three years, but I am definitely new to plants and sand.

My progress so far on the tank is basically just cleaning and putting in the sand. My plan is to wait for all the excess water to evaporate so that there is no air trapped underneath the sand. After that, I will fill up the tank and start cycling. I am planning on taking things slow and just getting a feel for things, but I am also extremely anxious to get this thing up and running. I know that I can't set this tank up without outside help, which is where this thread comes in. I would really appreciate any help I can get, and even if it is just encouraging words, I'll take it :) I know I've been rambling so I'll leave it here, but I will keep updating on my progress as I go.

Attachments

• photo1 (1).jpg
    photo1 (1).jpg
    249.4 KB · Views: 102
Hello Luke, welcome :)

I am happy to follow along and give advice as and when its needed.