30 gallon stocking ideas

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

xzyss2002

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I’ve recently purchased a standard 29 gallon aquarium on Black Friday. I have hair grass carpet and it’s medium planted.

This is my stocking idea, are these fish compatible:
- 1 pair of German blue rams
- 2-6 boesemani rainbowfish
- 6 neon tetras
- 5-10 caridina shrimp

Those rainbows get to nearly five inches are quite active and are schoolers so are recommended in groups 6+. Doubt you have room for that in a 29. I’m not an expert on rainbows but I think there are other species of rainbow that stay smaller that might be better for a 29. Might want to look into that?

And a German blue ram would very happily eat those shrimp for lunch. I don’t know what type of caridina you had in mind but most aren’t gunna do well against a ram. Perhaps full grown amanos might be okay but it will likely come down to the personality of the fish.

I've heard if you let the shrimp colony grow before adding fish you won't notice the casualties as much.
I agree that you should go with smaller rainbows. Pacific blue eyes are my favorite looking (I've never kept them).

Well that depends on the species. Caridina is a varied group including some that don’t breed in Freshwater (amanos) and many that need buffered substrate to breed well (many of the others).

The problem is plenty of people fail to keep shrimp thriving and breeding even in predator free tanks (including me in my first attempt at shrimp keeping) so unless you start out with shrimp and give them 6 months to a year to get settled and breeding well in the tank before adding fish its doubtful they’ll put breed predation (unless you get lucky with fish that aren’t that interested.). And even then you may get a fish who enjoys hunting down each and every one