40g tank suggestions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mcdrichj

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hello, I am new to aquariums as well as this forum. I currently have a 40g tank that I just started. Im doing a fishless-cycle after researching the topic of cycling. While the tank and bacteria are doing there thing Im trying to plan my tank. I was looking for advise for different types of fish to put in there new home (after its fully cycled) and some decor advise as well. I will include a picture of my sad looking tank as well.
Thanks hope to hear from you soon!!

Welcome to Aquarium Advice!

It depends what kind of fish you really want. There are so many out there that we can't really suggest much because it just depends on what kind of tank it will be. So to help us help you, we need to know:

Is this going to be a community tank (a tank with lots of small, peaceful fish), or a tank with larger, more predatory fish?
Will it be planted?
What filter do you have?
How much work are you willing to do (water changes, etc.)
Do you like lots of small fish, or a small amount of big fish?
What qualities do you like: Color, big/small, very active, not very active, hardy, cheap, expensive, rare, etc.?
Do you want them to have babies?
Are you okay with some aggression between fish?

I hope this helps, and :welcome:!

Welcome to Aquarium Advice!

It depends what kind of fish you really want. There are so many out there that we can't really suggest much because it just depends on what kind of tank it will be. So to help us help you, we need to know:

Is this going to be a community tank (a tank with lots of small, peaceful fish), or a tank with larger, more predatory fish?
Will it be planted?
What filter do you have?
How much work are you willing to do (water changes, etc.)
Do you like lots of small fish, or a small amount of big fish?