5 Gallon Live Aquarium

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

NullEntropy

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello! I'm not exactly a beginner, as I've been keeping fish on/off for many years but I'm getting back into the hobby. Right now I have a 5.5g tank with 1 male Betta Splendens, and 2 GloFish Danios. The tank is currently cycling. I also have 2 java fern plants (I /think/ that's what they are) and 6 lucky bamboo stalks. This is my first time doing a live planted tank, and I'm very excited about. The Betta seems very happy, but the danios seem bored or lonely. I know they're schooling fish, and have had success with them in a small tank previously. Would it be a good idea to add a couple more danios, or should I try something like black tetras or rasboras? The light on the tank is a white LED light, and I was wondering what other kind of live plants I could put in there. I also plan on getting some driftwood and large rocks.

Last edited by a moderator:
I can't answer many of your questions, but I'd just like to share something I learned on this forum a few days ago; bamboo has to be planted so that none of it's leaves are submerged. In fact, a lot of it should not be submerged, which could be a problem since Bettas jump and their tank needs to be covered. (thou it sounds like a gorgeous set-up!) You also have to keep an eye out for rotting bamboo - sometimes it doesn't last.

I wouldn't add anything else to the tank. In all honesty, I would remove the danios to a bigger tank and add 4 more witb the group. The betta is all that tank size needs

Good to know about the bamboo I'll be moving mine tonight then. Or more like removing haha.

Also I'd be careful with danios and a betta. Danios tend to nip and chase pretty flowey things. Like bettas. sooo they may end up tearing his fins or chasing him into things that may tear his fins.