5g questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

zfarrias1

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Southern California, weather's great, people are j
Hey I just recently joined this site because I was going through the garage (I'm 13 with nothing better to do) and i dug up this 5 gallon tank from like 5 years ago. So I cleaned it, got some gravel, decorations, fake plants, blah blah blah..... Now my main question is: What should i put in it? Atm I'm thinking about a male guppy, 2 females, and a green Cory catfish. But I'm pretty new to the fish world, and I really have no idea what i should get. In advance::thanks:

there aren't many fish suited for a 5g tank. it would make an excellent shrimp or betta tank. a cory has no place in a 5g. they get too large and are MUCH too active. besides that, they should be in shoals of 5+ to be comfortable.

make sure you do some reading on the nitrogen cycle, and fishless cycling. it sounds daunting at first, but it's really not that complicated. it's actually much easier in the long run.

welcome to AA :)

also: if you put male and female guppies together they will multiply very quickly! having 3 in a 5g is pushing it in the first place, once they have babies, you'll need something much bigger.

Hey I just recently joined this site because I was going through the garage (I'm 13 with nothing better to do) and i dug up this 5 gallon tank from like 5 years ago. So I cleaned it, got some gravel, decorations, fake plants, blah blah blah..... Now my main question is: What should i put in it? Atm I'm thinking about a male guppy, 2 females, and a green Cory catfish. But I'm pretty new to the fish world, and I really have no idea what i should get. In advance::thanks:

Welcome Aboard!