6 Gal tank stocking questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ryguy76

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm going to be setting up a 6G Fluval Edge tank and according to the various calculators, it says that i can have 20" of fish, which seems to be more than I expected for this size. I came from SW, which would be 5" in the same size tank.

So, I'm thinking:
- 5-6 Celestial Pearl Danios
- 2 Red Platy's
- and some Red Cherry & Crystal Red Shrimp

Is this a do-able bioload? I don't think the shrimp will add to the bioload, but what would the recommended number be of each shrimp types?

Also, I have LED lighting so I was going to do real plants, just wondering what would be good choices for this size of tank. The tank is about 14" high so I would be looking at dwarf species for most I guess.

Any help would be fully appreciated. I am not a beginner aquarist as far as concepts and science goes, but I know very little about FW specifically.

I don't think you can have 20" of fish in a 6g tank.
CPDs, I've read, are good nano fish as well as bettas and shrimp but I wouldn't do platys in a 6g. Besides the platys, I think you have a good stocking listed.

I agree, the Celestials would be fine (or some other type of nano fish like ember tetra or chili rasbora) and the shrimp, but no to the Platys; they get too large and are too messy for a 6 gal.

Ok, good to know about the platy's. I read that that particular fish was a 2" adult, so I calculated 4" for the platy's and 6" for the school to give me 10" total in the 20" calculation that 3 separate calls gave me. I don't want messy fish, so I'm good without the mess they'd incur. Can you recommend a smallish feature fish for this tank to go with the school?

What kinda numbers for the shrimp?