Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-13-2004, 09:12 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 1,728
Send a message via Yahoo to deli_conker
Is your ammonia test one or two bottles?

The one bottle version can give you a false positive. I think it uses what is known as the "Nessler reagent". This can detect other things and show them as ammonia.

Use the two reagent test. I know that aquarium pharm. has it in the "master freshwater test kit". It has always given me good readings.

Quote:
My biggest question right now is why right after a water change do i have ammonia readings.
Let's say your ammonia is at 1 ppm. If you change 50% of the water and replace with fresh water, then you removed 50% of the ammonia as well. This leaves you with .5 ppm ammonia.

Stirring stuff up can give you an ammonia spike. At least it has with me. Just let your filter catch it and then clean it the way that TankGirl mentioned and you should be fine in a short while. You have to be careful vaccing while cycling. If you stir the gravel too much then you may kill off a lot of helpful bacteria. When cycling I usually vac like you would for sand; just hover close to the surface of the gravel and let the suction grab anything that's loose.
__________________

__________________
deli_conker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 11:01 AM   #12
AA Team Emeritus
 
TankGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 8,974
I would try testing your water by placing your thumb over the end of the test tube and getting a sample from lower down in the tank, as there may be more concentrations of it closer to the gravel, which would get stirred up and distributed during a water change. That might explain why you are showing more after you change the water.

Also, if you DO have markedly higher ammonia readings closer to the bottom, that might indicate there is more leftover food and poo down there than is desirable. If so, cutting back on feedings and more attention to gravel vac'ing would be helpful.

I think you have ruled out the dechlorinator as being the cause, because when I did the very same test you did involving the Marineland Bio-whatever dechlorinator, the test tube turned dark orange immediately.
__________________

TankGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 11:08 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Lancaster, Pa
Posts: 121
the test has two bottles to it. i tested down deeper too and the readings are still the same.
__________________
kmlong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2004, 07:53 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: illinois
Posts: 28
Are any of your fish eating feeders that remain too long?try more oxygen in your tank and limestone ..maybe in the gravel as a mix after washed....to help remove amonia. hth daddyo72
__________________
daddyo72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2004, 10:02 PM   #15
AA Team Emeritus
 
TankGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 8,974
Limestone will raise the pH, and that might not be desirable. Removing ammonia can certainly be done with various products, but that will defeat the cycle, so I try to avoid "removing" the ammonia, since we are trying to grow nitrifying bacteria that feeds on ammonia. You will stall the cycle if you remove it.

I am somewhat stumped here as to the reason you are presently stalled, unless you have some kind of ammonia removing product (possibly mixed with charcoal in the filter?) that is holding you back.

Feeder fish remaining in the tank, or perishing and decaying somewhere hidden could definitely be a source - but I think we ruled out missing fish already.

Everybody brainstorm here - we gotta get to the bottom of this
TankGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2004, 11:16 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Lancaster, Pa
Posts: 121
I have no feeder fish. There is nothing sitting anywhere in the tank like leftover food or anything. I have carbon in the filter cartridge and the cartridge has been in there for at least a month. But i did change carbon about two weeks ago thinking it may help remove the ammonia. I kept the same cartridge though cause i know i need that bacteria though i may have messed up by changing the carbon. I change water every two weeks, about 25% change and i add a little bit of salt usually 1 tsp per 5 gallons of new water that i treat. Would the salt do this? Ammonia never goes over 1 just seems to keep hovering there. I leave the light on for about 10 hours a day and turn it off when i go to bed and back on in the morning. The tank is not near any sun and water temp is 78 degrees. I dropped the temp to 76 last night to see what changes if any. I have all fake plants and put my air pump back in a while ago. I found that it keeps the top of the water free from all that protein stuff or just keeps it stirred up but i think it makes my water much clearer. I didn't feed for two days just to see what the ammonia was and it has not changed. Like i said, last week i did vacuum and got lots of stuff out of there and thought for sure it would solve my problem but it didn't. Im afraid im gonna have to change my filter soon, don't know how much longer i can keep that original one. it is wearing thin from rinsing in tank water when i do water changes. I am so frustrated. the fish are happy and well though but hate to keep making them swim in that ammonia. Current reading are: Nitrates 10, nitrites 0-.25, ammonia 1, ph neutral. I don't really watch the ph too much anymore. I just let it do its own thing cause as soon as you start messing with it with any chems it gets worse. the filter is rated for 100gph so its fine for my 20 gal tank, maybe just a little under rated. i appreciate all the help and need all the advice i can get.
__________________
kmlong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2004, 09:45 AM   #17
AA Team Emeritus
 
TankGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 8,974
Maybe change the filter but take the old one and put it in a mesh bag or something inside the tank, so the bacteria is still in there.
TankGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2004, 10:19 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BrianNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 4,535
Hmmm. Something is going on in this tank. I would add more media. I'm a big fan of sponge filters. They inexpensive and do a great job of biofiltering. Connect it to your air pump for a week and let's see if the ammonia drops to 0.
__________________
BrianNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2004, 11:28 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Lancaster, Pa
Posts: 121
is this just something that connects to the airline? its not just a matter of getting rid of the ammonia. the question is why won't it supply my bacteria and deplete itself? going on 2 months now and i've only got traces of nitrites that never get higher and the cycling is at a complete stall. I've got no choice now but to replace the filter. you can see all kinds of lint-like particles in the water, im assuming it must be pieces of the filter, its been in awhile!! I'm going to put the old cartridge in my tank or see if i cant get it in my filter behind the new one yet. If not i'll just set it in the tank in some corner. I think Brian may be right though, not enough media in the tank for bacteria to grow on besides the gravel. Does anyone treat their tank with stress coat? I know we ruled out that being the possible cause for ammonia spike. My beta must be getting his fins nipped at a lot so i put some stress coat in to help with the repair for him. Are there other dechlorinators that you can also use as a slime replacement other than stress coat? thanks everyone. I know we're gonna get to the bottom of this.
__________________
kmlong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2004, 11:41 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BrianNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 4,535
Deleting anything from your tank now is a bad idea kmlong. Leave the filter, carbon, everything. Just increase the places where the good bacteria can get a foot hold.

A sponge filter connects to your air pump. Use that instead of the airstone. I'm guessing you can buy one at your lfs for like $5.00 (I buy them in bulk and online).
Also, I don't use any products to treat the water except a chlorine/chloramine remover. I don't it's ever needed to add stress coat. I'm wary of any products containing aloe. The fish all seem pretty good at producing their own body slime without it.

I wouldn't worry about adding any chemicals to your tank. Let's just get this thing cycled as quickly as possible.
__________________

__________________
BrianNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 weeks and done with cycle? fcastrofilippo Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 02-07-2009 12:31 PM
Cycle Under 2 Weeks?! uscamaro Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 02-01-2008 07:54 PM
I have two weeks to cycle!!!!! t27countryboy Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 13 05-28-2005 09:51 AM
2 weeks and my cycle is through?! AR15 guy Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 03-22-2005 06:51 PM
5 weeks, no cycle???? kmlong Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 06-27-2004 10:41 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.