Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-15-2018, 10:59 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mr. Aquaforce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 267
75 Gallon Upgrade Help.

Hello everyone, its been awhile since I have posted on here, miss talking to my fellow aquarium addicts

Okay so I snagged a 75 gallon from my LFS for 70 bucks, plan on resealing it once its finally warmer than sub-zero temps.

So the current plan I have, going to use my 55 gal that is currently established ATM as my sump tank for the 75 gal. Thinking of adding overflows & outputs to both corners... or one corner or build a over flow box on the back of the tank? Then what do i do for water intake towards the subscrate? struggling a little on what design to lean towards for that, as I will be having my tank full of plants.

This is my first time building a sump and transferring all of my fish to the 75.. really could appricate any input.
__________________

__________________
Mr. Aquaforce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2018, 06:12 AM   #2
AA Member
Community Moderator
 
Delapool's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 14,932
Good to hear from you! A thread search might also find a few old threads on this as well.
__________________

__________________
Delapool is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2018, 07:57 PM   #3
Ichthyophile


 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Northern California
Posts: 335
An overflow in the middle or on one side would be fine. I'm not sure what you are asking about water flow and the substrate. You don't need any water flow at the bottom if you vacuum your tank while changing water. The sump will do a good job of filtering the rest of the water
__________________
rlederer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2018, 04:47 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coralbandit's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Saratoga,NY
Posts: 6,816
Do you want to drill the tank for over flow or use a HOB type?
__________________
Mr.bandit is my YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcS...zPAhmB9QK0UvMA
http://www.aquabid.com/cgi-bin/aucti...er&Coralbandit
^^These are my weekly sales^^ GOT RAMS ???
coralbandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2018, 06:08 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mr. Aquaforce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by Delapool View Post
Good to hear from you! A thread search might also find a few old threads on this as well.
Will check into that tonight.
__________________
Mr. Aquaforce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2018, 06:15 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mr. Aquaforce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlederer View Post
An overflow in the middle or on one side would be fine. I'm not sure what you are asking about water flow and the substrate. You don't need any water flow at the bottom if you vacuum your tank while changing water. The sump will do a good job of filtering the rest of the water
Okay thank you!
__________________
Mr. Aquaforce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2018, 06:16 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mr. Aquaforce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by coralbandit View Post
Do you want to drill the tank for over flow or use a HOB type?
Im willing to drill into the tank
__________________
Mr. Aquaforce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2018, 05:54 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coralbandit's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Saratoga,NY
Posts: 6,816
There are many ways to build an overflow from the best [Bean animal ] to a simple PVC pipe..
Since your willing to drill the sky is the limit..
I like the new eshopps eclipse overflows..They come with templateand drill bit for installation...Pretty simple.
http://r.search.aol.com/_ylt=A0LEV0F...RF.IBH2n_8G2w-
I think the 55 is going to be too tall to be easy to work on / if at all in your stand [ask me how I know?]...
__________________
Mr.bandit is my YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcS...zPAhmB9QK0UvMA
http://www.aquabid.com/cgi-bin/aucti...er&Coralbandit
^^These are my weekly sales^^ GOT RAMS ???
coralbandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2018, 07:15 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,588
A 55g will be a bit large to fit under a 75g, you will have to custom build a stand just to fit it.

Hen youre using a sump It's best to use multiple sources of water flow in the tank such as a power head to keep the substrate clean.
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2018, 09:25 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mr. Aquaforce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 267
It is a bit large, i was planning on shaving down one side of the 4x4 studs underneath the tank on each corner, only shaving down 1" making it a "34". Kinda like making a notch to slide in the 55 gal sump. Hope that wasn't to confusing.... 😕😫
__________________

__________________
Mr. Aquaforce is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
5 gallon, 75 gallon, gallon, upgrade

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tank Filter Size - To Upgrade, Or Not To Upgrade! mylifeasben Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 13 06-15-2014 01:47 PM
40 gallon Breeder to 55 gallon upgrade? trickshot3102 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 54 02-11-2014 04:17 PM
I may have just gotten me a free tank upgrade... Big time upgrade! Mrs.h2012 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 21 09-14-2012 03:01 PM
help planning my 100+ gallon upgrade HPballer76 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 07-29-2012 01:26 PM
To upgrade or not to upgrade? JennaSimpson Saltwater Reef Aquaria 13 05-15-2012 07:08 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.