A few Qs

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MrBubb

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello all!

I posting to make sure I haven’t overlooked something vital in my tank. The last thing I want is to get all set up just to have everything die. Besides that I am a college student and every dollar spent needs to be spent wisely. As far as experience goes last year I looked after a Betta and a mystery snail in a 3 gallon for a friend. I am attempting to make this freshwater tank because it makes it 1000x easier to sleep at night. I have been search engining a lot of these questions and searching forums but some are just too specific.

Tank size: 10 gallon (20L x 10W x 12H)
Expected inhabitants: Cherry Shrimp with Amano Shrimp (around 10 cherries and like 3 amanos) and some 1 school, probably 7-8, of Tetras (the ones on the smaller friendlier side)
Plants: ??? Options: Java moss, Java fern, Anubias, Cryptocorynes, and Vallisnera
Lighting: No hood or light but near a window, however the window faces north so no east west direct sunlight.
Filter: A whisper Tetra brand filter (waterfall, filters up then pours back into tank), box said good up to 10 gallons, comes with those biobag things—supposed to remove nitrates and ammonia
Heater: A cheap Tetra brand heater said good up to 5 gallons
Temp range : 68-80 F depending on the Tetra species I get as well as what plants –the heater is auto set to 75 F so it will probably be that.
PH range : 6-7 ideally at 7.0 === Hardness: 6-10 dgh === ammonia/nitrites: 0 === Nitrates: Does anyone know what would be an acceptable amount? 10-20 ppm?

My questions are...