Advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

urville

Aquarium Advice Freak
Well, i just added a filter not long ago, a canister, and soon after i experienced a brown algae bloom which has died off now, and i'm having an ammonia spike of about .3 and a nitrite spike of about .1 or .2
also i noticed when moving some plants arund that deeper areas in the sand have turned a light gray/grey color.

anyone have any suggestions. oh i also added some malaysian drift wood.

on another note, bits of my glossostigma fell off the plant floated to the surface began growing single little roots and then multiplying it's like duckweed but slower growing and less annoying.

What filter did you have before? Did you remove it? That could have caused a mini-cycle. I have no experience with glosso, but the baby plants from my crispis float around and root, then I plant them. Maybe the glosso will do the same.

yeqah i took the power filter off it was hob and put the canister on.. but when i moved my plants the water got cloudy and is taking some time to clear, i think the cloud is the ammonia. i'm beginning to wonder if i didnt kill the bacteria i had on the substrate and thats causing the spikes, because previous to that event i had no problems even without the hob pf.

i think the cloud is the ammonia
Ammonia is not cloudy. This is a classic symptom of a new tank (or in your case, a new filter). Do PWC to help the fish cope. Do you agitate the sand, or have snails to do it for you? You must move the sand around to prevent anaerobic pockets.

i move it but not that far down. lots of planted life.
i think this cloud is a green cloud of algae.... i bet i need a diatom filter. man...