Aerator disaster and other related errors

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

lelouchzeta

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi, I'm a noob here...
I have had a 10 gallon tank (my first aquarium) since mid-September, and it finished cycling mid-December. There were 4 zebra danios, and when the cycle had finished we went to the LFS and bought 2 BBG's and 1 sail fin molly.
0 ppm ammonia
0 ppm nitrite
20> ppm nitrate
We put them in the tank with the danios with the intention of returning the danios for store credit. By the beginning of the third day, 1 BBG was feebly rolling around the bottom of the tank and couldn't resist the current of our aerator. We unplugged the tube of the aerator and went to the LFS to return the danios and get some aquarium salt and swim bladder meds. When we returned after 2 hours, the water was entirely siphoned out of the tank into the carpet. There was an inch of water covering the gravel and 1 BBG and the sail fin molly were alive <3 we dechlorinated 9.5 gallons of tap water and filled the tank. They were in shock but alive. Two days later the molly had swim bladder issues and died that day before we could help it. We vacuumed half the gravel (50% water change yesterday) and now I'm wondering what to do. It's been a week since that happened.
The BBG seems happy and bright and is eating.
The LFS said our nitrate levels were dangerous...we are getting between 0 and 20 ppm I think..with our liquid test kit.
Any ideas?
Thanks

Last edited:
Hi and welcome!
BBG (bumble bee gobies) are brackish fish. They require marine salt in their water. Where the LFS keeping them in fresh water or brackish? Mollies are can be kept in fresh or brackish tanks. Some even in full marine.
How did you acclimate the fish?
20ppm nitrate is fine.