Algae control WITHOUT the help of critters

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kindafishy

Aquarium Advice Activist
It seems everything I am reading these days says that algae-eating fish/snails, etc are pretty much a central element in the battle against algae. Any article on the type of fish I want to get (64L/17G tank) talk about putting something like otos in there for that very purpose.

That's all really nifty, BUT...what if I don't wanna add a second species to my tank???

Is it possible to keep algae in check WITHOUT the use of additional critters, catfish, or whatnot?? Or are they really and truly necessary?

What do you think?

:flowers:

There are ways. For instance if you keep the phosphate to an absolute minimum. The little bit that gets released by the fish the plants will compete for and thus keep algae low.

I'm not an expert by any means, but I'm sure there are ways to control algae without snails and other fish. Keeping lighting to 8 hour or less a day and as Epiphysis says control phosphates in the tank. Here is a Google search that might help you get some further info.

Phosphate levels are most often dictated by the levels found naturally in tap water sources. There's a lot more to algae control than just po4. In fact, dosing methods like e.i. work on the basis that there should always be a steady supply of macro and micronutrients, so this method wouldn't work if the concept of 'plant outcompeting/starving algae' were completely valid.
if the tank isn't planted then I'd probably manipulate the lighting so that algae isn't an issue.

whats your stock and whats your lighting? no use trying to fix algae if you ndont know what causes it

whats your stock and whats your lighting? no use trying to fix algae if you ndont know what causes it