Alligator gar?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jpjones

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Has envy one had experience on these fish before? What do they get feed and what fish can they live with that they won't eat? I am new to the whole predator fish thing so anything will help!! Thanks

Has envy one had experience on these fish before? What do they get feed and what fish can they live with that they won't eat? I am new to the whole predator fish thing so anything will help!! Thanks

You realize alligator far can get close to 7 feet...ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1387839376.344220.jpg

Just... Noooo, these fish are not meant to be kept in aquariums...they are opportunistic predators, they will eat anything and everything they can, unless you have a 700+gal tank and a lifetime supply of feeder fish id look into an Oscar or something...

Really that's weird because there were so many aquariums that I saw had gar in the and they were very small??

Those weren't alligator gar. They were probably one of the smaller far species.

Dan on the site where that sell them they don't say they get that big?ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1387844979.344900.jpg

Lol that is a needle nose not an alligator. Much different fish personality wise and size wise.

Yeah as you can tell I haven't had these before but would you recommend these

When getting involved with any species of fish, research, research , and a little more research will always do you best, fishing for positive responses in an AA thread will not fare thee well long term..