Ammonia in tap water

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

LisaTuron

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello,

I am new to the hobby and a bit confused. I started cycling my ten gallon fish tank with 2 small fancy goldfish. I know it's too small for goldies, will be moving them to a 55g tank. When I tested my tap water it reads 1.0 with the API master kit. When my tank cycles will the ammonia read 0 or stay at 1.0?

I am doing small water changes every other day, about 25%. I don't want it to go over 1.0 In fear it will hurt my fish. I used API water conditioner every time. any suggestions ?? Should I be doing something different?

Thank you

Ammonia in tap water makes cycling fish in a bit of a pain because you can't do water changes to really drop that level. While you are cycling the lowest your ammo will be is 1ppm until it progresses enough that it's converting your ammo.

By API water conditioner you mean PRIME right? PRIME is great because it will actually detox the ammo in your tap water for about 24-48 hours. So long as you are dosing with prime for water changes you should be ok through the process.

Eventually your cycle will progress enough that your ammo will convert and you will see nitrites. This is when you will start seeing your ammo hit zero. You'r tank will generally stay at 0 ammo once it's cycled but of course when you do your regular water change weekly you will have that ammo being introduced to your tank through water changes. Because you dose with PRIME it will detox that ammonia for your fish and by the time it wears off your ammo will have been converted already.

I hope this makes sense. I know there are a few on this board that have gone through cycles with an ammo source in their tap water and hopefully they can chime in too.