Another newb interested...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

petitemonk

Aquarium Advice Activist
Well I have always loved fish... And I have decided that I would like to have an Aquarium for my office, I am an architecture student and I think it would lively up my office a bit lol. But any ways I have been reading some posts and so far what I have learned is that you should buy the biggest tank you can afford to start out with. So I was wondering if a 20 gal tank will do the job. And also my limit is probly going be around 200 dollars for the starter setup... I am gonna run down to a local Aquarium store tomorrow. And I was wondering if you guys have any advice for someone who has never bought an aquarium to not get suckered in. Such as Is there any thing I need to look out for in a tank that hints to it being a faulty made tank? I do not want to buy a tank and find it leaking, would be such a bummer to find my fish all dead. : ) Or would I be better off with a smaller tank? Er I know I have more questions but I just cant think of them atm. Ill post if I can think of them.

Thx in advance. :D :D

suckered in
No offense to anyone here, but I think even the experienced people get suckered in... They see something they want, and just have to have it... Welcome to Aquarium Advice by the way...
Someone else might have some more info that you are looking for, and ask any question you can possibly think of...
Sure, the bigger the better, but I'm wondering about this office... Is it your own personal office, or does someone else own it? You may want to discuss it with them(if someone else owns it) and make sure that it's ok to have a fish tank and then see what size limitations they might have if one was even allowed... I hope that it will be ok as it will definitely liven things up in the office...